Home > Uncategorized > Nintendos at the Louvre

Nintendos at the Louvre

So after class today when we talked about exhibits at the Smithsonian museums, and how scientists have to find a balance between factual and intriguing, I found this article about Nintendo 3DSes being used at museums in France! For $6.50 you can rent a Nintendo 3DS for a few hours, and it provides a 3-D interactive map as well as an audio guided tour. It has a built in GPS to tell you exactly where you are, and figure out where you need to go.

While obviously not groundbreaking technology, I thought it was fascinating how they are now incorporating something so modern and technical into one of the most famous museums in the world, with works of art that are hundreds of years old. It’s a weird mix of past and present! I went to the Louvre a couple years ago, and the thought of hundreds of people strolling around with their Nintendo 3Ds just seems a bit odd to me. Anyway, I thought it was an interesting story that definitely relates to what we were talking about in class today. Even though the Nintendos aren’t exactly an exhibit, I believe it was a way for the museum to gain more interest from people, especially kids, and to incorporate new technology into an “ancient” place.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. avtheo
    April 19, 2012 at 1:42 pm

    This is so cool. I would have never thought a gaming device could gain more interaction for people visiting the Louvre or even any museum. My Parents always love getting those little headset things that give you information about the exhibits and I must admit I am not the biggest fan of them. But I would totally try the gameboys while in a museum.
    It is cool how even the simplest technology can be transformed into an educational tool. I guess that’s the main benefit of technology today.

  2. April 20, 2012 at 10:44 pm

    I think that one of the great advantage of using game console is that most people are familiar with the technologies through various generations. What I think is that the museum is aiming to get the younger generations to be interested in the museum exhibit. I think, museum side can include mini-games regarding the exhibit.
    It is interesting to see how certain institution adopt certain technologies to improve efficiency.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

