Home > Uncategorized > Do you talk to yourself?

Do you talk to yourself?

Most people talk to themselves every few days and many actually talk to themselves on an hourly basis. Why do people do this? What is the point? Research suggests that self-directed speech in children helps guide their behavior.

Franklin P. Jones once said “One advantage of talking to yourself is that you know at least somebody’s listening.” This is so true.

Reserachers also wanted to know if talking to yourself helps adults too.

In a recent study published in Quarteryly Journal of Experimental Psychology, experiments were conducted to discover if talking to yourself helps when searching for certain things.

In the first experiments, participants were shown 20 pictures of random objects and were asked to find a specific one. Some participants saw a text label telling them what object they should find. But, some participants were asked to search again while actually telling themselves what to search for. The people who spoke to themselves found the objects faster.

In another experiment, participants went on a virtual shopping spree, in which they just saw photos of items that are commonly found on supermarket sheaves. They were asked to find these items as quickly as possible.

This study literally explains my life. I can’t count how many times I tell myself out loud what I need to do. I have the worst memory but when I tell myself the same things over and over again, I end up remembering better. I’m sure when we are all looking for something, we say the name of the object out loud. Unless, I am the only “crazy” one, and everybody else just finds things without talking to themselves.

Do you guys talk to yourselves? Don’t be shy. Speak up.

 

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/04/120417221613.htm

  1. April 18, 2012 at 4:02 pm

    I talk to myself all of the time…Einstein talked to himself, which always makes me feel more comfortable about it.

    And when I say I talk to myself, its more than just saying, “Keys, keys, keys…” when searching frantically around my room. Its having conversations that talk through issues, its as if my mind splits into two people, taking two different stances on an issue I may be having, and they thrash it out until ones argument seems like the best option. I don’t think that its crazy, its just like making pros and cons lists…only it takes the form of different versions of myself debating a dilemma.

    Also, I am one of those persons who starts laughing to myself…Ill see something or hear something that sparks a memory or chain of thought that I find humorous and just start laughing. But that, I believe, is something relatively normal.

  2. avtheo
    April 19, 2012 at 4:12 am

    Do I speak to myself? Really? That question must be rhetorical because I maybe talk to myself almost like 10 to 15 times a day and this is no exaggeration. It’s not as if I have regular conversations with myself, I’m not that weird. But on occasion I ask me questions, like “Why did you do that, Alex?” or I even calm myself down by talking to myself; it is quite therapeutic.
    I think talking to yourself should actually be praised not frowned upon. It is very beneficial, like is circumstances that you need to remember something you tell yourself and remind yourself not to forget it.
    It’s funny that the comment above me states that she laughs at herself because I do too and was going to mention it! I laugh at myself FAR too often. But nevertheless, people shouldn’t be afraid to be themselves, so talking to yourself or even laugh.

  3. anthonypribadi
    April 21, 2012 at 5:13 pm

    Do I speak to myself? Maybe (I just spoke to myself when I typed this, actually). But I think I speak to myself sometimes when I am studying (actually this happened a lot back then when I was in high school, not so much in college for some reason). I can’t quote anybody right now but I think it is already proven that studying while saying it out will help us to remember them better. A few things are going on here at the same time. First, when you’re studying, you read the text from your book/notes/whatever. So, there is an act of reading it. Then, when you’re reading it out loud, there’s an act of saying it. And also, you will hear yourself, so there’s an act of listening to it. And in every of those activities (reading, saying, listening), your brain thinks about it (the subject that you read). So, loosely speaking, you get 3x advantages if you study while reading it out loud as compared to reading it silently.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

