Home > Uncategorized > More Friends, Bigger Brain

More Friends, Bigger Brain

Researchers have suggested that there is a link between the number of friends you have the size of your prefrontal cortex. This study shows that this part of the brain is bigger for the people who have more friends.

This study was led by a professor of the University of Oxford. The study shows that we need a certain set of cognitive skills to maintain friends, especially a lot of friends. The terms friends in this study

doesn’t mean the people we know, for example, all of your Facebook friends do not count. The ability to have these skills is determined by the size of the

different parts of our brain. I thought it was also very interesting that this particular part of the brain is right above the eyes. I believe this also has to do with the reason for this link.

Of course the study didn’t use many volunteers which could make this a little skeptical but if you want to find out more just use the link below. I won’t bore you with all the details, I just found this article very interesting. Too bad we can’t do our own experiments on each others’ brains and figure this out for ourselves.

The professor of this study has done the same experiment with different species but this study looks at differences within just one species: humans.

What do you guys think? Could this be possible or is it just coincidence? Have youever thought about how many friends you have and if there could be a scientific reason for that?

http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2012/03/120324145542.htm

  1. avtheo
    April 5, 2012 at 5:45 pm

    I definitely think this experiment is valid. I am a very observant person and the results of this experiment answer a lot of my questioning about specific friends of mine. With some people I know it perplexed me that they have lost or drifted away from more than one friend. One of these people actually stopped being friends with me and him having a small sized brain makes so much sense now.
    Props to you for finding this article because it is relatable and interesting for all to read. It really opened my eyes to a more valid explanation for some people who are flakey or cold.

  2. anthonypribadi
    April 6, 2012 at 3:07 pm

    Well, I think everything can be related back to brain, namely, every specific ability of ours, such as: ability to remember what we read/hear, ability to visualize 3D, ability to deal with numbers, kinetic ability, and others. So I am not surprised by the result of the study if they say that number of friends we have has to do with some small part in our brain. However, I would like to ask a follow up question. Now that we know our social skill is determined by a certain part of our brain which is located above our eyes, what’s next? I mean, how should we respond to that study? Is there any way to improve that particular ability? Will we, then, decide only to make friends with those possessing big brain above their eyes because they probably have better social skills? (The latter one is silly I know)

  3. April 8, 2012 at 9:28 pm

    I was surprised that they found a relationship between the size of the certain part of our brain could determine such a thing, I always just assumed it related to the type of people we are.I had never considered a neurological explanation as to why I have the number of friends I have compared to someone else. It makes complete sense that there are specific cognitive skills that are necessary to make friends. I think it’s fascinating that someone was intelligent enough to design a study that measured this particular topic, and it makes me realize the depth that science has.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

