Home > Uncategorized > Shots Shots Shots of Creativity

Shots Shots Shots of Creativity

Drinking doesn’t only give you a buzz but apparently it boosts you creativity. Men who drank until they got tipsy could solve more problems demanding verbal resourcefulness in less time than sober men. Tricky word problems were solved faster by men that were tipsy but not drunk than sober men.

The study found that alcohol helps one find connections faster and easier between different ideas. The study is discussed in the article I read. You can find the article with the link below. This article didn’t really surprise me for several reasons. Most of the greatest minds were drunks or were on other types of drugs. Many brilliant authors were drunks and died at the age of 50.

From experience I can definitely agree that alcohol makes you also spill the truth. You can trust what  a drunk person says because of this reason. Also, some of my own favorite authors were drunks. For example, Hunter Thompson’s story Fear and Loathing in Last Vegas just shows how “creative”  he was. He literally makes you feel like you are the one on drugs because of his brilliant ideas and talent.

Psychologists believe that alcohol helps verbal creativity because it lowers our control over our thoughts. Researchers have also found that drunk people are less afraid to make mistakes which also boosts creativity and spontaneity.

Does anyone have any objection to this theory?

 

http://www.sciencenews.org/view/generic/id/338406/title/Vodka_delivers_shot_of_creativity

 

  1. March 28, 2012 at 3:21 pm

    great post!

  2. anthonypribadi
    March 28, 2012 at 7:35 pm

    Hey good job on putting the vodka picture, I like it! And yeah, I agree on this, and am not surprised, just like you. I have a Japanese friend in my dorm and he said to me once that he spoke English more fluently when he got drunk. I think that has to do with the fact that people generally fear less (if not having no fear at all) to make mistakes when they are drunk. Another experience that I encountered is that my friend played guitar and sang better after drinking some beers. That allowed him to be more relaxed and more expressive in playing his music, which was kind of rap.

    However, as an engineer who deals with statistical issues, I have some concern on the reliability of the study done. Some things to consider/ask: how many people are in the study? If the ‘drunk’ group performs better than the sober group, how does the researcher know that it is the case anyway that those ‘drunk’ people are smarter when they are sober? Is there any repetition in the study? Does the researcher swap the 2 different group of people and redo the experiment again?

    • March 29, 2012 at 6:59 am

      It is very interesting that your roommate was able to speak english better when he was drunk. This is not only true for him. I have a lot of friends whose primary language is spanish. When they are sober, communicating isn’t necessarily hard, but often seems like it requires a little bit more effort than it should. However, whenever they have consumed alcohol, I noticed that their speech becomes more fluent and it always seems much more casual and effortless.
      So, why does this make sense? Alcohol is known to be a substance that allows people to let go of inhibitions, gain more confidence, and act in ways they wouldn’t usually have the courage to. Whether this is a building block for creativity, as the author of this post is suggesting, I’m not sure. Yes, I agree that alcohol can have great power. But by way of creativity? I think people may think less about repercussions and have the courage to try new things, which has a side effect of creativity. But do I think that alcohol use is linked to creativity? Not so much.

  3. March 28, 2012 at 10:49 pm

    Ok really, what college student doesn’t want to hear this? I would have never thought to make the connection between drinking and creativity, but it actually makes a lot of sense. Alcohol makes you less inhibited, so when you are willing to share things you normally wouldn’t they can be interpretted as more “creative”. I also think its interesting that the study points out the differences in ability between sober, tipsy and drunk men. I feel like usually there is just a comparison between drunk and sober people, so adding tipsy to the equation adds something unique.

  4. lexicory
    April 1, 2012 at 1:52 am

    I can readily believe this- it all goes back to your inhibitions being more free. However, the risks that come with being drunk are far higher than the advancements of creativity. To me, there’s really no a big enough benefit to being more “creative” (or really just feeling more free) to get drunk. When these two are compared to the risks of being drunk, it’s definitely not worth it to me. There are many great artists are creative people who do not need to be drunk to do their work and do it well. Because that’s what art is- an inherent ability, not one that comes out or is increased because of alcohol.

  5. April 1, 2012 at 1:56 am

    Oh yea I completely understand what you’re saying. Im not saying to get drunk and that makes you creative. I just thought it was pretty awesome that I found an article on this. And I was just making a connection between alcohol and the greatest writers out there. There is also a huge difference they made in the article between tipsy and drunk. Everybody is creative in their own way though.

  6. April 1, 2012 at 2:15 am

    I would like also like to say that even though I am both fluent in English and Greek, I have realized that I am a little more self-conscious about speaking Greek. Therefore, when I have been under the influence of alcohol, especially in Greece, I definitely speak faster in Greek and basically only speak Greek. I find this common with other friends of mine and their second languages.

  7. April 1, 2012 at 9:32 pm

    This is a highly interesting point you are bringing up that challenges the negative social norms we have come to believe regarding alcohol. Just like you, some of my favorite authors were known for liking their drinks a bit stronger. Particularly, Hemingway. Of course, I feel like this burst of creativity should not make up for all the negative aspects of drinking.

    While drinking makes you reckless and honest, does that really make up for situations that include violent behavior and ruined health? Having a glass of red wine is proven to be good for your heart, but so is drinking pure grape juice. What I’m trying to say here is that if we promote drinking as a positive reinforcement we may as well discuss weed and how many famous artists claim it benefits their work.

    Substances such as these should not be taken lightly, and even though there are many considerable benefits, maybe we shouldn’t promote them but just keep them as personal known facts.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

