Home > Uncategorized > Chocolate Lovers Assemble!

Chocolate Lovers Assemble!

Another post earlier in the year discussed chocolate and the negative effects it can have. So, when I came across this article, I couldn’t help but post it. As a girl who has gone through chocolate frenzies more than one a time, I was interested to read about the new research findings on the subject.

The article states that people who eat dark chocolate and cocoa powder are at a lower risk for cardiovascular disease, heart attack and strokes. This is because chocolate contains flavonols, disease fighting antioxidants. They help to improve cholesterol, lower blood pressure, and increasing blood flow. The flavonols in chocolate has also recently been found to have promising effects on insulin resistance, a condition that increases your risk for type 2 diabetes. Pretty great right?

Now before everyone gets too excited, the article also points out that those who ate “the most chocolate” in these studies, consumed less that 2 ounces of chocolate per week =( So while I wouldn’t reccomend eating a whole box of Godivas, chocolate in moderation can have some great benefits!

Hope you’re all enjoying your spring break, if you have a few free minutes and want to read this article here it is http://health.yahoo.net/experts/dayinhealth/cocoa-surprising-superfood

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. zmackay
    March 15, 2012 at 4:53 am

    This post came at the most perfect time, considering the fact that I may have just indulged in a midnight craving for dark chocolate truffles, breaking several new years resolutions. I also recently read something about chocolate, but this article considered it’s psychological affects. I was really curious, because, especially in Gelman library during midterms week, I have heard so many people admit to craving chocolate above all else, even going so far as to call themselves “chocoholics.” As it turns out, our desire for chocolate is never totally fulfilled, because we are consciously aware that it is desired but should be eaten with restraint; thus the “addiciton” that so many of us plead to. here’s the link, as for me it continues to be a struggle! http://www.medicalnewstoday.com/releases/82257.php

  2. March 18, 2012 at 6:52 pm

    After looking at this post and reading the article you posted, I now have a sudden urge to run across the street and buy myself a chocolate bar. It’s great to know that something so pleasing to my taste buds can also be a real-life health benefit. My mother has always instructed me to eat something sweet before a big test. This was to increase my sugar level and energize me. Chocolate has never been my favorite dessert but it is definitely becoming something I’m looking at now as a daily food requirement for a healthy well-being. Although one apple a day may keep the doctor away, a chocolate a day can probably add to that theory. And make it much more delectable!

  3. avtheo
    March 19, 2012 at 12:13 am

    As a lover of dark chocolate, ever since I heard that chocolate with a high percentage of cocoa is good for you my guilt for eating chocolate has gone down dramatically. I used to always turn down anything chocolate, but then my mom gave me some advice that with anything in life, things should be done in moderation. It’s a great piece of advice.

    But understanding that it is the flavonol in chocolate that supports cardiac health is interesting to wrap your head around. I feel that when you learn that something is good for you you just accept it and move on. But people never really ask how? or why is it good for you? Thankfully, this article has enabled readers to fully comprehend what makes dark chocolate good for you and your heart.

  4. Ben Harrison
    March 19, 2012 at 1:38 pm

    Whenever I see something that claims that “X is good for you because of this” or “Y is bad for you because of that” I always am skeptical. It is easy for one to ignore the bad things that a certain item might bring and instead focus on the good. Now I am not saying that the chocolate lobby funded this article or anything, or that there even is a chocolate lobby, but I do think that this should be taken with a pinch of salt.

    Im also a firm believer that things are good in moderation. Everything has a limit. 2oz of chocolate a week though seems to be fair. I’m sure that if they were to repeat the experiment with higher values of chocolate, they would see some downsides. Red wine, for example, helps your heart. Now I think its relatively obvious that 2 bottles a night might have some adverse effects, but a glass a night along with a piece of chocolate might just be the key to a longer life.

  5. March 21, 2012 at 1:45 pm

    I have always preferred milk chocolate over dark chocolate, but in the past few years my cravings have started to lean toward dark chocolate. Ever since my parents heard rumors that dark chocolate was apparently better for your health, they followed the craze and swapped milk chocolate for dark. Although it took a while to adjust to the bitterness, I eventually adjusted to the taste and began craving bitter chocolate over the smoother milk chocolate. I used to rarely eat chocolate, but after learning that dark chocolate was alright, and even somewhat healthy, was a great relief. I agree that everything is better in moderation and it is better to have a piece of dark chocolate rather than depriving yourself for weeks and then suddenly eating a pound of bitter dark chocolate late one night. I appreciate that this article explains how and why dark chocolate is good for you and find it interesting that the ingredient called flavonol is actually the reason why dark chocolate is good for you and your heart. I grew up believing chocolate was always bad for you, regardless of its color, and I loved learning about the benefits of flavonol and receiving confirmation that dark chocolate is good for you in moderation and why that is.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

