Home > Uncategorized > Allergies

Allergies

I’m sitting here with a runny nose, and sneezing so much I can’t focus. Why? Allergies. My allergies are truly getting the best of me. Usually, I have seasonal allergies, which mean that when the weather gets warm I sneeze a little more often then the usual person. So why am I having such a bad allergy attack in the wintertime? I can thank good old global warming for that one.

In case you haven’t noticed, we sort of skipped winter this year. The climate is all out of whack. All of the normal allergens present during the springtime not only remained present during the winter, but also grew. This article that I read stated, “Without a deep frost like in winters’ past, experts say allergens are sticking around and growing in numbers.”

All of this, combined with the normal allergens that the winter brings on, such as dust mites produced from heating systems, makes this winter very bad for people with allergies.

How are your allergies? Have you noticed an increase of symptoms?

 

In case you are interested in reading the article, here it is:

 

http://www.wjla.com/articles/2012/02/warm-winter-weather-causing-increase-in-allergies-72127.html

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 12, 2012 at 4:44 pm

    I also have horrible allergies, and have since I was young. I’ve been getting monthly shots since I was 10, and usually can’t make it through the spring without a pack of Prednisone. However, so far this year my allergies haven’t been a problem (fingers crossed). My parents were worried that because we had such a mild winter, my symptoms would kick in earlier, but aside from a few days with a cold, I’ve been healthy as can be. Maybe I just got lucky, but I can totally see how this could be a problem for many people. In the past I counted on the snow and cold of winter to set my allergies at bay for a few months before spring kicked them into full force. But now with the drastic inconsistencies in weather, I might need to stock up on eye drops and nasal spray before coming back from spring break..

  2. zmackay
    March 15, 2012 at 4:42 am

    I can completely sympathize- although I never used to have bad allergies, they’ve gotten increasingly worse over the years and this spring break I haven’t been able to make it through the morning without an unhealthy dose of claritin. You bring up an interesting point that I hadn’t thought of by linking allergies to our unusually warm winter and global warming as a whole. Beyond just seasonal allergies, it will be really interesting, and probably alarming, to see how climate change will affect public health.We all know that certain illnesses are geographically and climactically distinct; for example certain viruses can only survive in warm, humid environments. Many people indigenous to these regions have built up immunity to such strains, but the rest of the world certainly has not. Although increased travel ect has heightened exposure, what will happen when the climates of our own regions begin to change? Forget the polar bears (not really of course), what sorts of epidemics will resurface or spread all the more easily because of rising temperatures and sea levels? I think the scariest aspect of this possibility is its unpredictability- I mean really, who knows? I’m sure doctors will be hard pressed to find solutions to more and more unique cases in the coming years. On the bright side, maybe an overlap of fields, between medicine and climatology, could help procure public health. Just a thought, this was really interesting though!

  1. March 28, 2012 at 6:51 pm

Leave a Reply

