Home > Uncategorized > So Stressed Out

So Stressed Out

I found an article about a topic I am sure we can all relate to: stress. I’m stressed because I just got a C on my bio test, which leads me to stress more about the next one, which means I will stress about taking good notes in class, which means I will stress about getting to class on time…and the list goes on like that. Stress is a problem for me because it unravels itself, so when I’m stressed about one thing, I am going to start being stressed about EVERYTHING. When I read an article that showed some recent statistics on the Polaris Marketing Research website, I found it interesting and wanted to share. 42% of people from ages 18-34 say they are ‘very stressed.’ 42% of people aged 18-34 also reported being more stressed this year than last year.

This got me thinking about stress – what causes it, how it manifests itself, and what we can do to prevent (or at least find the best way to cope with) stress. One of the main sources of stress for me is work. We have so much, all the time, and it feels like it never will end. I am well on my way to fully understanding just how privileged we are to go to a top university like GW, and get an education that most people won’t be able to say they received. But one component of the education debate is about homework: why do students get so much? Do we benefit from spending hours and hours each night in Gelman? Staying up doing work until 12 or 1 each night can put students into sleep debt (which we can’t make up by sleeping more later), which causes us even more stress. This isn’t only at the college level – Kindergarten-aged students have recently begun getting homework as well. Who should be getting homework? It makes sense that people from 18-34 are most stressed, and we can all relate to that especially since we are in that range as students.

So what do you do to lessen your stress about school/work? Do you stress too much? What do you stress about? Is it possible to alleviate our stress (which all of our professors encourage us to do) while we continuously get so much work? At what point does homework stop being helpful to our understanding of the material, and just become tedious?

http://www.polarismr.com/POV/bid/82187/Marketing-Research-Shows-Younger-Adults-Have-Most-Stress

Have a good night! 🙂

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. February 22, 2012 at 4:39 am

    College has definitely increased the amount of stress in my life, especially compared to high school when I rarely brought home books. However, maybe it’s just my obsessive need to be organized, but I find making lists and keeping a planner or calendar really do help. If you prioritize what needs to get done when based on due dates, the huge pile of work sitting on your desk becomes much less daunting.
    In terms of the amount of work we get, I think that can be expected in any college. And what may seem tedious to one person, could actually be really helpful to another. Probably not what any of us want to hear, but I think our work load is something we all just have to get used to =(

  2. February 22, 2012 at 5:56 am

    I found this post really interesting because lately, stress has been an emotion that I’ve had to deal with more often as of late. Between juggling student org duties, homework, classes, finding time for friends, and sleep it seems like there just aren’t enough hours in a day to make it all work! However, I definitely agree with klazar7 that keeping an updated, organized planner and calendar makes things easier to deal with as long as I stick to the schedule I have written down.

    I wonder why people in that age group are more stressed out this year than the year before. Maybe people are stressed about their jobs/losing their job/find a job or the economy?

  3. February 24, 2012 at 11:03 pm

    Hi I love this topic, but not the subject of this topic. Stress stress stress. What actually is stress? I am a believer of those who say that stress is only a matter of perception. I can have less workload than you, yet I can be more stressed than you. And I think that there are a lot of factors contributing to stress, not workload alone. There may be other unknown real reasons why you become stress while facing a heavy academic workload.

    I did a project related to stress in my engineering class a year ago (I am an exchange student, by the way). It was a study on stress level of NUS Faculty of Engineering’s students. And in that project, we came up with a conclusion that the factors contributing to stress are so complex. What to me is a stressful condition may be different from what that is to you. E.g. A feels so stressed if he needs to talk in front of public, while B enjoys that moment very much. However, to simply matters so that easier to program into computer while making sure that everything is reasonable enough, our group divided 3 factors (academic, social, and rest) that play a role in someone’s stress level. This may not be so comprehensive, but it is useful. We believed that there must be a balance between academic life, social life, and rest/leisure time. Typically, one who strikes the balance between those three areas has lower stress level. But again, each person is different, so the balance point is different from one person to another. E.g Albert Einstein might do 10 hours of physics research every day but he was not under stress; I did my math homework for 4 hours and I was so stressed out. For me 4 hours of studying is a lot, but for Einstein 10 hours of researching may be normal.

    And on how to alleviate stress, I have quick tips: listen to (or play or sing) your favourite songs, scream out loud, do physical exercise (play soccer, basketball, etc), sleep, talk to friend, and that’s it.

  4. DM
    February 26, 2012 at 7:40 pm

    Exercise is one of the most effective ways to reduce stress. I can feel a big difference on the days that I go on a run versus the days I do nothing. Exercise allows time for yourself to accomplish something, and focus on one particular thing, not school, extracurriculars, friends etc. It’s a way almost “zone out” of everyday life, while being productive at the same time.
    I bought that fitness pass for the gym here, and I schedule in classes just like I would any other meeting, class, or commitment. That way I force myself to go, and take a break from the daily grind. Stress has increased ten fold since I’ve been to college. As we are trying to all figure out what to do with our lives, while still struggling to finish growing up, stress is unavoidable. But taking an hour or so every day, or even just a few days a week, to work out, will definitely help with anyone who’s stressing out!

  5. February 26, 2012 at 8:23 pm

    I definitely feel more stress transitioning from high school to college. Whether it is the adjustment or just the challenging classes, the stress seems to always remain. I think what accounts for my stress and maybe others my age is the uncertain future that college is preparing us for– fear of the unknown. I think an interesting point was brought up about the perception of stress-something that may be a daunting task for me may be a walk in the park for someone else, a lighter work schedule may be more stressful for one person then someone who has a hectic workload, etc. , and it somewhat frustrates me in the sense that sometimes it hard for people to comprehend the stress of an individual because it is less of a challenge for the other. But I don’t think the stress levels of students are being taken into consideration by some teachers, so unfortunately (like klazar7 mentioned) it is something that we have to deal with.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

