Home > Uncategorized > New stuff? more fun, more blindside

New stuff? more fun, more blindside

Hi, my name is Plankton and I am writing this blog on a phone now, and this is pretty difficult.

I actually never participated in a blog writing and this is my first post about how we deal with transitions of technologies.

I spend my middle school and high school  in the era of strange transition from pencil and notebooks to PC and Macbook .  When I was in middle school, none of our friends ever thought of buying a laptop for our academic purposes. We all used the computer lab room to play around and check out the new cool awesome thing called the “YouTube.”

Despite the all the positive influence that PC gave to me, I actually did not get in to the transition that well. (At least in my father’s point of view.)

I still prefers  to write my ideas and my notes on a notebook and not typing it down on the PC or Macbook. And I remember I almost failed my 2 of my high school classes  because I was too busy playing Risk and some online games during the class.

You see, new technology is always awesome and sparks everyone’s creativity but we still need to acknowledge the pros and the cons of how those technologies influences our daily life.

I am sure that your high school teachers and PTA had some  issues too, to adapt to the new culture and the technology of PC. Obviously, they were thrilled with what we had, but they also had to come up with a method to stop students from checking on face book during class time, and how to stop the students from using iPhone to hide their exam notes.

Well check this out about twitter!

http://www.socialmediaexaminer.com/employees-as-social-media-celebrities/

The technology of our Social media networks has evolved from (Whatever before xanga) Xanga, Myspace, then facebook, to finally twitter in decade.

However, I strongly believe that our society’ s expectation do not always match or manipulate the actual usage of the technology in reality. Like the example of schools and academic members had to adapt to the new culture of internet and laptops,  the companies have to adapt and handle  people with a strong influence in the internet community.

We don’t write  how many people follows you on twitter, or how many friends you have on face-book on our resume (yet).  But int he future we might need to, because the companies want to know how influential you are in the network. Since the Arab Spring, the potentials of the twitter has been proven to be extremely influential, but at the same time we do not know the effect of the influential people in the network to our daily lives.

If couple tweet can bring down a government, how will it affect our society, and even in the way we represent ourselves to our friends and the people?

What do you all think?

Do you think it is right to fire an employee  with a because his tweet was critisizing his company?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. MTDM
    February 7, 2012 at 7:48 pm

    I love laptops and smartphones as much as the next person, but it so clear to me the detrimental effects it has on our everyday lives. People consume themselves in twitter posts and Facebook statuses. Students waste away class time on Pinterest (myself including), repining pictures of cupcakes or cute shoes. None of these tasks really serve a great purpose, and cause decreased grades, weird obsessions, and impact on social life. Frequently when I’m out at restaurants, I will see families at tables not talking to each other, but each on some sort of device, whether it be an iPhone, iPad, kindle, or blackberry. Meaningful connections are being lost to metal and plastic.

    Some of the stuff that I’ve seen people post as their Facebook status, I would bet a million bucks they wouldn’t say it out loud, in front of other people. Social websites are a great way to stay connected with friends and to get news and quick updates. What quickly started out as a great social idea, however, has turned into a venue for fighting, harassing, and posting of inappropriate (and annoying) pictures and posts.

    I absolutely agree that companies should be checking employees’ or potential employees’ Facebook or twitters. Not to censor their lives, but to make sure they are properly representing the company or organization that they work for. I know I may sound extreme in this, but it feels to me that people are losing all sense of a social decorum. They have no regard for the effects of what they are putting online.

    That said, social web sites and technology in general are great ways that awareness can be raised, news can be spread, and change can be impacted. It’s just a shame that something that can do so much good, is starting to do so much harm.

  2. February 8, 2012 at 1:36 am

    There is so much to be said on the subject of social media i dont know where to begin. I guess I’ll go out on a limb and say that, to me, social media only controls as much of your life as you let it. Yes, in our society it seems that those without Facebook or Twitter are “out of the loop”, and if you don’t have a smartphone, well, then you might as well live in the jungle. But in reality, it’s our inability to control our need for these objects that is the problem, not the objects themselves.

    I, like you, most often prefer to take notes by hand rather than by computer. When I don’t have my laptop in class with me, there’s no chance of me accidentally checking Facebook or online shopping. And for those people who really can’t imagine taking notes without your computer, turn off the internet! If you have to go through the process of re-connecting to the network, you’ll probably realize what you’re doing and stop before you get distracted.

    Also, I understand why it would be reasonable for companies to monitor employee’s social media profiles, no one wants to be misrepresented by a hasty tweet or status. But the beauty of these sites if their ability to limit what content is shared. You can make your account private, hide certain posts from certain (or whole groups of) people, and even inable people from finding you through a search of the website. YOU have the ability to determine what gets seen and what doesn’t. Heck, you could even post a status and make it only visible to you; online venting in privacy.

    Now I’m not saying that I am an expert on controlling social media. There’s a reason the homepage on my laptop is Facebook. But I just feel that it’s important for our society to understand that we are in control of how technology effects us. There will always be some new gadget or website being created, but it will only impact our lives as much as we allow it to.

  3. lexicory
    February 8, 2012 at 3:41 am

    It is ridiculous to let workplace etiquette get out of control over a tweet. A boss does not have the right to fire an employee over using his 1st amendment, freedom of speech. Everyone is entitled to their opinion. Opinions are not right or wrong- that’s why they’re opinions. There is, however, of course social rules and procedures that we as human beings follow in order to avoid awkward and potentially harmful situations such as this one. If he wanted to keep his job, perhaps he put it in danger by tweeting his personal opinion. This is not to say, however, that he was wrong to tweet it. We are entitled to our freedom speech, barring any lines crossed with hate speech.
    At the same time, everyone with a Facebook, Myspace, Twitter, etc. knows to be careful what you post online, as employers and potential employers do look. The bottom line is to be SMART with what you do online. The simple fact is that if you wouldn’t say it in person, it’s probably not best to say it online. You take the consequences of your actions, whether on the internet or in person. These consequences may be losing your job. Is the employer wrong to do that? Maybe so. But it’s still HIS right to fire the employee, and the EMPLOYEE’S right to say what he wished, at his own dire.

  4. February 8, 2012 at 8:54 pm

    Although I enjoy the endless entertainment technology provides me, I admit that I sometimes get carried away with endless amount of technology at my fingertips. In high school, I used to travel back and forth from school to my home by the train and I usually spent those fifty-two minutes each way either listening to music or browsing sites on my iphone instead of studying or starting my homework. Those fifty-two minutes could have been used productively, yet I consistently succumbed to my technological desires and played games or browsed websites instead of getting a head start on my assignments due for school.
    Like Klazar 7 said, I believe social media can only impact your life only as much as you allow it to. If one swaps an iphone for a book, their boredom can be easily appeased by opening the book rather than listening to music or browsing fashion sites or gossip blogs. Technology can be used as a tool or a weapon, it all depends on who wields it and what they believe.
    Social networking sites such as facebook, twitter, myspace, etc., have invaded our school, work environment, and home life and someone not equipped with social networking skills has become an almost foreign and laughable concept. Although I believe one should limit their technology use in an academic and work setting, I do not believe one should be penalized for expressing their thoughts via twitter or other social networking sites. I believe the company has the right to monitor but not penalize their employees’ social networking posts, unless the company is being misrepresented or the welfare/security of someone is in jeopardy. Social networking and technology are tools that can be used to help advance the growth of an individual, but can also isolate and get people in trouble if used incorrectly or abused.

  5. johnwmanning
    February 11, 2012 at 2:00 am

    Lately, technology is becoming a curse as much as it is a cure. When I was in school we didn’t have to worry about being distracted by Facebook or Twitter, mainly because they weren’t invented yet. Now when I look around my classrooms, all I see are students updating a status or commenting on a post. They become too easily distracted by their cell phones and laptops that the amount of technology they possess seems like a curse. I like Klazar7’s idea of turning off the internet when in class. When it comes to the employer/employee social media relationship, I have a different perspective. After high school I didn’t jump straight into college, instead, I decided to join the military. We were constantly reminded that while we may be fighting for freedom, we gave up a lot of our personal freedoms. We were allowed to have Facebook accounts, but they were heavily monitored. They did this for several reasons, mainly for security reasons, but also because they don’t like to look bad. Other companies monitor their employees for the same reasons. Whether it’s in a highly competitive tech company or a financial company, they don’t want their secrets leaked and they especially don’t want to look bad. Whether or not that is fair is debatable, but it happens and it will happen more often in the future. I do feel that it is unfortunate that we have to scrub clean something that was meant to bring us closer together, just so we can get or keep our jobs.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

