Home > Uncategorized > Turkey Fever!

Turkey Fever!

WIth all the festivities around Thanksgiving, it got me thinking about the traditional American holiday. Everyone loves Thanksgiving, I mean I sure do. I love the creamed corn, mashed potatoes with gravy, turkey, and especially the pumpkin pie. Especially the pumpkin pie! Also with football games now on Thanksgiving along with all the food and relatives can be a hectic time with not a lot of down time to really take a break like they call it. But I want to strongly recommend doing what this holiday is all about, and thats giving thanks.

I know its hard, but thats why we have this holiday in the first place. As all you know, Thanksgiving was started by the Pilgrims when they came together for a feast to say thanks to God for what they had. Unfortunately, they really didn’t have that much to be thankful for. Most pilgrims struggled after making to America, and many people died within the first winter. They didnt know how to grow their own food, and struggled to survive, but thanks to the help of the Native Americans, they were able to learn how to grow crops iin the new soil. This new partnership allowed the Pilgrims to survive, and because of this they had a feast to give thanks.

I know that especially during this time it is difficult to stop and give thanks, but I say at least try to. I am taking this time to write this to say that I am thankful for my family, I enjoyed getting to see my family again since I left and then my extended family that came in to town for the holiday. I also have great friends, a really good school to go to, and a great time being on the baseball team here at George Washington.

So what are you thankful for this holiday? Especially with school starting up again and the final push to the end, try to take some time to truly take a holiday and be thankful for what you have.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

