Home > Uncategorized > Lollipop Immunity

Lollipop Immunity

How many of you have had the chicken pox or gotten the vaccine? Some parents, whose kids haven’t had the distinct honor of being pockmarked yet, are going to extremes  to avoid the vaccine, but still contract the illness to build immunity.

A CNN article reports that parents who are vaccine skeptics (which is whole different blog post on its own) are choosing to buy sucked on lollipops, q-tips, and even spit from people who have the chicken pox in order to infect their own children. According to these parents, spreading the chicken pox this way keep their kids from serious side effects that they believe are attributed to vaccines. There’s even a Facebook group that helps parents find a “pox party”- where healthy kids are put together with sick ones in hope that the healthy kids will contract the sickness.

The mainstream medical community is pushing back at these methods, explaining that lollipops aren’t even an effective way to spread chicken pox, that the parents are taking a huge risk exposing their children to more virulent and dangerous strains of the disease, and even allege that the parents are breaking the law by sending a virus or disease through the mail.

To me, the kid that’s gotten what seems like every vaccine known to man, this phenomenon seems like the most bizarre thing in the world. Why would a parent expose his or her child to some random kid’s germs? Who knows what else the infected child might have? It’s such an unnecessary risk, especially when the medical community has a perfectly safe, stable version of the disease. And making your child suffer through the misery that chicken pox is seems just mean, especially since one rarely actually gets chicken pox when he or she receives the vaccine.

What do you all think about this?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 14, 2011 at 5:47 am

    I read that article too, and I was going to write about it, but I decided its better left to someone who is more interested in this kind of thing.

    I mean, all i’m going to say is “Damn bro! THis is gross!”

    Does anyone here remember that episode of South Park where the parents gave all their kids chickenpox so that they would gain immunity? But at the end, the kids decided to enact revenge by giving all their parents herpes? hehehehe

  2. November 14, 2011 at 8:28 pm

    This is becoming a sort of trend among parents apparently and I think that it is wrong. The argument for this would be that by excluding your child from vaccine he or she will not be susceptible to a super-disease that would be immune to the current immunizations. Medicine was created to help people and be used and putting your kids through this sort of weird process seems really cruel. It is also not sanitary at all. I think parents who want to put their kids through this type of process are merely experimenting because they want to find out if it will really work, not looking out for the well-being of their children.
    I also think that these kids could contract others diseases from other people’s Q-tips and tissues so this plan should be stopped immediately.

  3. November 15, 2011 at 2:41 am

    I also think this is an extremely gross and unnecessary way to prevent children from getting the chicken pox. As you mention, the healthy children are susceptible to many more diseases and more dangerous strains of the disease if they are put into contact with sick children. What parent in their right mind would risk their child’s health this way? I personally had the chicken pox when I was probably about seven, and don’t remember ever getting the vaccine for it before I had it. It really wasn’t a terrible experience, and if I were a parent, I would rather risk my child catching the chicken pox naturally rather than exposing them to possibly more dangerous diseases form other children.

  4. November 16, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    I have heard about the pox parties, but I did not think they still happened I thought those were more a thing of our parent’s generation. I never understand why someone refuses to get their kid vaccinated, so there are side effects but there are side effects and warnings on everything. I mean have you read manuals before they are ridiculous, warning us of every possible danger of anything that may happen. I think the possible side effects far outweigh the costs. This is coming from a person who for years has passed out with shots, until the last few years I had no idea what a shot felt like because I had passed out every time and they just gave me the shot then. I had the chicken pox shot and I still got the chickenpox but at least I had a mild form.
    Plus this spread of chickenpox is just not hygienic. Used Q-tips and lollipops is gross. Whatever happened to avoiding sick people? I always avoided the kids who were sick but I thought that was just common sense. This fear of side effects from shots has spread too far, the HPV Vaccine has gotten too much attention from it. My way of thinking was would I rather have had cervical cancer or three shots?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

