Home > Uncategorized > Keystone Lite — and The Truth About Light Beers

Keystone Lite — and The Truth About Light Beers

Tis The Drink of The Gods

Disclaimer: Don’t read this if you are offended by underage drinking… you tory…

Sorry Laura, but I had to do it. Your title reminded me of alcohol.

Some people believe that light beers such as Keystone Light and Coors Light are less alcoholic than say… a Samuel Adams Boston Lager or a Shiner Bock. Although this is sometimes true, light beers do not have significantly less alcohol content than full fledged beers, not counting specialty brews and stouts.

This is dangerous because some people are willing to drink more light beer than regular beer because they believe it contains less alcohol. This might cause them to well, to put it in GWU terms, get “emerged”.

So, the question is: why do people drink light beer? After all, it only tastes like water (as a best case scenario), and has the same alcohol content as a regular beer?

 

 

Here are my reasons:

1) It’s cheap. Lets face it. We’re college students and we can’t afford six packs all the time. (But in all honesty, I’d take quality over quantity any day.)

2) It has fewer calories.  (Who counts calories these days? Then the Lord exclaimed: Thou Shalt Drink What Thou Wilt!)

3) It allows people to drink for the sake of getting drunk. (How anti-classy… tsk tsk)

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 13, 2011 at 3:28 am

    Having lived in England for two years, I was exposed to an entirely unique culture of drinking. First and foremost – to pay tribute to the theme of your post – “light” beer wasn’t a popular item on any menu. This can be attributed as much to culture as it can be to consumer tastes. From my own experiences, the Brits seldom drink to get drunk. Instead, kicking back and enjoying a pint of ale was considered a perfectly harmless and highly traditional form of relaxation and socialization. In fact, English beer has a considerably low alcohol content, allowing for the enjoyment of flavour (see what I did there?) while limiting the chances of succumbing to unintended drunken stupor.

    Having traveled directly from my home in Windsor, England to Foggy Bottom for the start of the academic semester, I experienced mild culture shock pertaining to the enjoyment of alcoholic beverages. In Windsor, there are well over 30 traditional pubs within walking distances. Visit any one, and you’ll find yourself in the midst of friendly conversations, roaring fires, and the comforting ‘clinks’ of glass mugs. There are no bouncers at the door. There are no bartenders asking for identification. Whether you be 18 years old or 80, you are always welcome to a good time.

    GW students drink for the thrill. They drink to wind up passed out in a hallway without a shirt, or to see who can come closest to a ride in an ambulance. They drink to fulfill a desire ‘live on the edge’. If you ever have wondered why GW students are criminalized in pop culture, look no further than your own frame of mind.

    I have no problem with drinking for the right reasons. Unfortunately, those reasons are lost upon our own community.

  2. November 13, 2011 at 4:23 am

    I agree. I drink purely for the flavor. That’s why I rarely drink hard liquor, though when I do, I prefer whiskey. I just don’t get it. It sounds so totalitarian if you think about it. I’d love to visit England, though personally, I prefer German style lagers over India Pale Ales.

  3. November 13, 2011 at 5:10 am

    Well as a dedicated American! That is dedicated to drinking to drink, partying to party, and anything else that fall into the college declared category of “stupid things I can only do in college before I have to grow up and become a real adult”! Drinking is perfectly fine when done to loosen up a bit. I will agree that it is often taken to the extreme by many of our fellow students but I do think that is is a bit up tight to say that it should never be done. I don’t think it should be done every day but it should definitely be done from time to time.

    However, on the topic of light beer, the gross substance that it is, I find it completely useless. In my opinion, beer is not the drink of choice at anytime let alone light beer. I prefer hard liquor in small quantities. It is quickly done and allows for enjoyment without the falling down drunk behavior. Light beer is less calories but useless calories if it tastes awful. I am a firm believer in enjoying your calories. Don’t drink light beer it’s a waste.

  4. November 13, 2011 at 7:22 am

    Arussell326- I heard that Sam Adams Light is actually pretty good for a light beer.

    Believe it or not, the first beer that I’ve ever tried to taste for hidden complexities was Keystone Light. It was the best thing ever for me until I discovered Samuel Adams Boston Lager. That changed everything.

  5. November 13, 2011 at 8:33 pm

    You were not the only one who though that about the pipeline, this is a picture my room mate took at the protest.

    But to your point, I think the issue with light beer is that people think that since it is light in calories it is therefore very light in alcohol content which can get them in trouble, at any age. There is a small difference in alcohol content, regular beers are 4.5-5% alcohol while light beers are around 4.2%. So people tend to have this idea that since it is a light beer that they can have a few more, while in reality that probably will not work out too well for them, and then they are gaining the calories back anyway.

  6. November 14, 2011 at 12:12 am

    Lol I don’t even support Keystone Light.

  1. November 16, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

