Home > Uncategorized > Is it possible to smoke in moderation?

Is it possible to smoke in moderation?

All Natural Cancer Sticks

Ever since I got to GWU, I start smoking. My first ever tobacco cigarette, although it is illegal to market them as cigarettes, is a Black, or a clove cigarette. Ever since then I’ve been smoking two or three cigarettes every week. I don’t smoke because I think it looks cool, or because I’m addicted, but because I like the taste of tobacco smoke.

That means if I do get addicted to cigarettes, nicotine patches or the “E-Cigarettes” won’t help me. I smoke for the taste, not for the nicotine.

Now, I’m actually quite afraid that I might become addicted to cigarettes. I do have ways to prevent myself from getting addicted. I’ll never buy my own cigarettes, so I can only smoke when a friend would give one to me. I also don’t inhale that much.

 

 

I might switch to cigars because they’re more difficult to come by and you can’t purposely inhale cigar smoke. That might let me enjoy the taste of tobacco, as well as prevent myself from getting addicted, or getting cancer…

Do you believe it’s possible to smoke in moderation? Or is it something that you should never do?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 12, 2011 at 10:36 pm

    I am a strong believer that you should never smoke just because there is really no positive outcomes when it comes to smoking. I decided to look up clove cigarettes to find out if they are equally harmful as regular brand cigarettes. A found this website (http://www.goaskalice.columbia.edu/2317.html) that talks about them, and I am not completely sure how reliable it is but it seems fairly accurate based on some other sites. It talks about the harmful effects of clove cigarettes and the fact that they produce twice as much nicotine, tar, and carbon monoxide as regular American cigarettes. Additionally, the main ingredient in cloves is eugenol, which is dangerous because the long and short term affects are not well known. There are many ideas about what could happen but not too much research has been done. Overall, clover cigarettes are just or even more dangerous than regular cigarettes and I would advise trying to quit.

  2. November 12, 2011 at 10:47 pm

    The human brain is capable of the dangerous tendency to rationalize addiction. Take, for example, the candy bar-cocaine paradigm (a ridiculous semi-scientific model of my own creation):

    Statement 1: I enjoy candy bars. Eating candy bars gives me a sensation of pleasure. However, I am not addicted to candy bars.

    Statement 2: I enjoy cocaine. Using cocaine gives me a sensation of pleasure. However, I am not addicted to cocaine.

    Here we have the ultimate example of faulty inductive reasoning: since candy bars are pleasurable and non-addictive, we assume that cocaine – which is equally pleasurable – is also non-addictive. Obviously, we have come to a false conclusion.

    I am by no means attempting to argue that cigarettes are comparable to cocaine, candy bars, or anything in between. Instead, I simply wish to point out that the statement that you “smoke for the taste, not for the nicotine” may very well be an artificial construct.

    Claiming your ability to quit smoking is one thing. Actually breaking the habit is a whole different animal.

  3. November 13, 2011 at 4:18 am

    I suggest that you attempt to quit now. You want to quit before you become a chain smoker. As a person who is allergic to tobacco I can tell you that not only are you harming yourself but you are harming others. I am sure you have noticed the massive numbers of people who smoke on campus. Everyday I have to walk around with my inhaler praying that I don’t inhale enough cigarette smoke to set of an asthma attack. I can’t tell you if it is possible to smoke in moderation but I can tell you that moderation or not you are still harming someone else who didn’t choose to smoke with you.

    On a completely separate and more directed note: Many people on campus smoke, Cigarettes can become addictive quickly, and cigars are not all that hard to find. What does that mean?

    It means that your claim to never buy your own cigarettes means nothing because if you only borrow one or two from each person on campus who smokes per semester then you could easily supply yourself.(possible exaggeration on my part but you get the point). Secondly, like Trent stated it doesn’t take long to convince yourself that your not smoking too much. For twenty-five years my mother told herself she was not addicted as long as she didn’t smoke as much as other people. My father said the same thing about cigars. As a result, I was always sick as a child. We never could figure what the problem was until they quit. When I strangely got better the less they smoked and had major asthmatic reactions around tobacco, I found out that I was allergic to it. Thirdly, there are eleven tobacco shops within 2 miles of the foggy bottom campus. I searched just to get the exact number.

    Just do yourself a favor and quit now don’t be sucked into the trend of smoking or the taste of tobacco.

  4. November 13, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    I would like everyone to take a moment and refresh their memory about why it is so bad to smoke cigarettes: http://www.cdc.gov/tobacco/data_statistics/fact_sheets/health_effects/effects_cig_smoking/

    I’m not judging anyone, I have a few friends that smoke and I must admit to have tried it a couple times, but everytime I have smoked a cigarette, I just feel bad about myself because I know the harm that I’m doing to my body. I always think that, no matter how good it might taste or feel to smoke, it is never good enough to be worth dying for. It is a cliche to say: you never think it can happen to you, but you really don’t, and it really can! I have had many family members either die or become very ill from being life long smokers, and I know people who have gotten sick years after they quit.

    I know that it is a very difficult to really send out the message about how harmful it is to smoke, I just hope that you don’t end up finding out the hard way as so many others have done before! You can justify your smokin habits all you want, it is still smoking and it is still dangerous.

  5. November 13, 2011 at 5:55 pm

    While I don’t believe that smoking in moderation is possible, I can’t say that you should never ever smoke a cigarette. It is normal to be curious about what it’s like because so many people do smoke them, so it is natural for anyone to want to try it. However, this does not mean that you should continue to smoke. Smoking socially or even because you like the taste of tobacco can lead to addiction. Smoking for any reason can and will lead to addiction because nicotine is addictive. I agree with trenthagan that it is very easy to rationalize our choices and to adapt them so we think what we’re doing is okay, or not as bad as we thought. There are so many more benefits to quitting than there are to continue smoking. It seems like the only reason you like smoking is for the taste of tobacco. On the other hand, if you quit now, you are much less likely to develop any number of cancers. You will ultimately save money, because you probably would have become addicted and started buying your own cigarettes. Smoking affects your physical appearance, and will make you look older faster. If you read this article, http://whyquit.com/whyquit/A_Benefits_Time_Table.html , it can explain all the benefits of quitting. Would you really want to sacrifice all the damage to your body just because you like the taste of tobacco smoke?

  6. November 14, 2011 at 3:10 am

    I’m not going to tell you to quit, because we’re all adults here who can make our own decisions. However, switching to cigars, or any other tobacco product, won’t decrease your risk of cancer or addiction. At this article explains (http://www.cancer.gov/cancertopics/factsheet/Tobacco/cigars), smoking cigars may be more harmful than smoking cigarettes because of the increased levels of carcinogens and other toxins. Also, your mouth, lips, tongue, throat, and larynx are exposed to smoke, and therefore carcinogens, whether you inhale or not. As long as a tobacco product has nicotine in it, it’s addictive. While the choice to quit is yours, the risk of addiction and cancer will be there no matter what kind of tobacco product you use.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

