Home > Uncategorized > Using Lasers to Change Eye Color…

Using Lasers to Change Eye Color…

According to BBC News, Dr. Gregg Homer is developing a method to change a person’s eye color from dark brown to blue. The article states that under the layer of brown pigment is a bluish layer. By using lasers for 20 seconds to destroy the brown pigments, it is possible to gradually turn the eyes blue. This procedure creates effects that are not reversible, and little is known about the side effects.

I have heard that plastic surgeons often say that their patients should use invest in psychiatrists rather than plastic surgery, because people who get plastic surgery have higher rates of suicide than those who don’t. Should that apply to people who wish to permanently change their eye color?

Does this remind anyone here of a certain time, when a certain group of people, tried something very similar?

Would there be less of a racial connotation if the procedure could give eyes colors other than blue?

What would you think about a person who went through this procedure?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 8, 2011 at 2:52 am

    Honestly I question why someone would want to change their eye color. I think this is an operation that is just changing things about a person that do not need to be changed. People become abnormally obsessed about weird aspects of their bodies and feel the need to change them and this sort of operation makes it possible through an unnecessary, painful and possibly harmful procedure. I have heard of colored contacts, but then I thought those were weird too. I guess I always figure that we shouldn’t go to surgeons to change us but rather to fix us. So unless you are needing your eyes to be a different color for a role in a film, I do not see why you would ever need to change your eye color.

  2. November 8, 2011 at 4:57 am

    This kind of thing makes me so upset! We’re so scientifically advanced, but I feel like our society just abuses all of those advancements and uses them for superficial and artificial purposes. I completely agree with lmorella, why would any ever need to change their eye color? And this also brings me to question why anyone would spend thousands of dollars to do something so meaningless? This question could be applied to any kind of plastic surgery in my opinion, unless it is reconstructive after some kind of accident or disfiguration. I guess people do it to boost their confidence, but I feel like the kind of science these people need is psychology.
    I don’t mean to come off too strongly about this topic, but I often think about all of the money that is wasted on silly procedures. Sometimes I wonder if our science is too advanced for us, because it seems like we tend to use it for more harm than good.

  3. November 8, 2011 at 5:18 pm

    What bothers me is the amount of time, money and resources being spent on this project. I could think of hundreds of different and much more important ways to use this money to benefit our society. The article states that Dr. Homer has saved up around 2.5 million from person grants, attached investments and bonds from the government. Why would the government give money to something so unnecessary. Possibly they could discover something unknown about the retina but the money is most likely going to the lasers. Since, the doctors aren’t even fully aware of the side effects, they should definitely put the projected 15 million aside and not plan to launch this method.

  4. November 10, 2011 at 3:18 am

    How about colored contacts? I would echo Imorellas’ comment that they are slightly “weird,” but at least they aren’t permanent. My philosophy is that if someone wants to change their appearance, they can. Everyone should have the right to choose. However, there is something very freeing to me about being completely out of the loop when it comes to my features. We all are who we are. I think it makes sense that people who have plastic surgery have high rates of suicide; it’s a shame that there exist people who are so displeased with themselves that they feel compelled to change it in such a serious and permanent way.

    I do think the science part of it is interesting, though. I knew that blue eyes were less common, genetically speaking, than brown eyes because of certain genes, but I didn’t realize that brown eyed people are, in a sense, blue eyed people with another layer on top. Sounds like an extremely dangerous procedure that I certainly wouldn’t be interested in!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

