Home > Uncategorized > A Few Thoughts on Dreams.

A Few Thoughts on Dreams.

One of my best friends from home and I would always have  crazy conversations about our dreams. We would go on and on telling one another our most ridiculous dream stories and it seemed that our stories got weirder and weirder by the second. If I could recall I would share, but dreams are just of that sort. Some people like my friend seemed to remember all of her dreams ( or did she…? ) but none the less dreams are just  simply fascinating.

There is really no limit to our dreams but have you guys ever wondered why we do? I was watching this video the other day about dreams and why we dream and it had some pretty good point. Basically dreaming helps with building better memories and coping with anxiety in the real world. I found it strange. I never really thought of dreams as a way to cope with reality, just thought of them as a process that goes on while one sleeps just to help one rest. But after watching inception ( not really ) and watching this video, it seems to make sense that some of what we dream have to do with fear or stress or something negative of that source.

Some researchers think that the purpose for these types of dreams is to prepare us against threats. They stated a theory that goes something like this. Back when we were early humans especially, we had no idea about what sort of threats we would encounter during the day, therefore to prepare us our brain would simulate anxieties while we slept to make us better prepared for a scenario  in the real world. With that said,  people with terrifying dreams were better for dealing with anxiety in the real world and had stronger genes. This description could play a big role in why we dream as well as how we cope with stress and society today. What do you think about dreams and what role they play? Have you ever had a strange dream that correlated with reality? Do you ever remember your dreams? Do you think they help cope with stress? I personally feel like dreams could have the ability to. Sometimes what we dream could be our alteration of the way we want to better our selves in reality, share your thoughts.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 6, 2011 at 6:44 pm

    Wow! This is very interesting. I have always had a passion about learning dream interpretation. Partly because I have very crazy dreams, which I find hilarious but I have another take on the reasoning behind the explanation of the dreams. I’ve read that the pineal gland releases a very potent molecule called dymethyl triptamine. This molecule can be found in any living organism in nature. However, the amount released during the dreaming stage is very small. This molecule released is so powerful, that it estimulates a great percentage of our neurons that we normally don’t use; allowing us to reach crazy images and dimensions. It’s very cool stuff.

  2. November 6, 2011 at 6:59 pm

    I always heard that dreams are mostly made up our unconscious thoughts and repressed memories which would make sense on why we have nightmares. Another theory I’ve heard is that dreams are a way for our brains to make sense of our day. Activity in the brain is still occurring even while we are sleeping and maybe it’s just trying to put all the pieces together while we rest.

  3. November 6, 2011 at 8:38 pm

    I’ve always found the notion of third-party dream interpretation to be rather ridiculous. After all, we each dream in such a unique and nuanced manner that I simply see no way in which others can successfully apply a generalized “formula” to identify any hidden meanings or messages.

    Take, for example, my own situation. Since I was a young child, I have dreamed exclusively in the third person. I liken my dreams to the sensation of watching an old movie – colorless, shaky, and often muddled. It often takes several minutes (or at least what I perceive as minutes) before I realize that I am actually the lead “actor”. Contrary to the assumptions of my friends, this proves anything but exciting. Most of the time, I am watching myself engage in some menial task, such as sitting in my dorm room completing homework. The majority of my dreams are associated with some feeling of boredom.

    Nearly all those with whom I have discussed this topic claim to be unable to visualize a third-person dream. On the other hand, I cannot even begin to imagine how one must feel to experience a dream through his or her own eyes.

    Friends and family members have attempted to apply significance to my dreams. Some claim that I am overly self-conscious. Others rationalize that my mind must be attempting to cope with the fact that the course of my life is beyond my immediate control. As far as I see the matter, it’s nothing more than a meaningless difference between myself and others. No one attempts to provide existential rationale as to why some have blue eyes whereas others have brown. No one seems to care whether I write with my right hand or my left. So why the fascination with the way in which I dream?

    Dreams hold some psychological relevance. After all, they provide us with limited insight into the human brain’s ability to make sense of observations and sensations. At the end of the day, however, I am confident that I hold more power over my dreams than my dreams hold over me.

  4. November 7, 2011 at 12:29 am

    I have heard a lot about dreams in psych classes, but mostly I think it is just random neurons firing. This is the new theory of how dreams are created. The Freud system of dream analysis where everything in dreams has a meaning just seems ridiculous to me. I always just see dreams as things that are completely random, not anything that have actual meaning. I guess I think dreams make no sense so there can not be much sense made out of them.

  5. November 7, 2011 at 12:39 am

    I go back and forth between believing that dreams have no meaning and feeling like they could be incredibly meaningful! Sometimes I’ll have the most random dream ever, and those are the ones that make me think that they don’t hold any meaning in real life. How could a purple pony mean anything in my life? Then, every once in a while I’ll have a dream that is so close to reality that I feel that it must mean something! I also have had a couple of dreams that I don’t think much about, and then that later end up becoming relevant in my real life later. Sometimes I wonder if i have psychic dreams because of this, I think we all have a little fear that our nightmares will come true because of this. Maybe they’re just pure sources of entertainment!

  6. November 7, 2011 at 12:40 am

    I go back and forth between believing that dreams have no meaning and feeling like they could be incredibly meaningful! Sometimes I’ll have the most random dream ever, and those are the ones that make me think that they don’t hold any meaning in real life. How could a purple pony mean anything in my life? Then, every once in a while I’ll have a dream that is so close to reality that I feel that it must mean something! I also have had a couple of dreams that I don’t think much about, and then that later end up becoming relevant in my real life later. Sometimes I wonder if i have psychic dreams because of this, I think we all have a little fear that our nightmares will come true because of this.

  7. November 7, 2011 at 4:54 pm

    I’ve heard many things about dreams and what they are for. I’ve heard they are just a stream of unconscious thoughts finally coming into consciousness (thank you psychology class) to that dreams are how your mind relaxes. Its said that dreams help the mind relax from an entire day of information, and that in dreams it can release a lot of it and take a break. This release is why there are different people in dreams and you jump around from place to place, because your mind is just releasing memories. To me, dreams will always be fascinating, no matter how much information is solved about it. Dreaming is awesome because you never know what is around the corner.

  8. November 7, 2011 at 7:07 pm

    “Sometimes what we dream could be our alteration of the way we want to better our selves in reality, share your thoughts.”

    I had a dream where I was throwing feces at my father but then it was hitting a glass wall. Before you know it, there was crap smeared all over the wall. That is exactly how I wish to better myself in reality.

    But the best dream I’ve ever had was the night after I played Resistance: Fall of Man for the first time ever. It was so vivid, and it actually made sense. When I woke up, I was like.. woahh… what a trip!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

