Home > Uncategorized > When is a visit to a doctor needed?

When is a visit to a doctor needed?

One of the past posts has me thinking, how do you decide when an injury requires medical attention? I will admit that I am a stubborn person, and I hate going to the doctors.  Once I was at home and we had a campfire in the backyard, so of course we were making s’mores! What we used to do to roast the s’mores was go around the yard and find a stick to wheedle down at the tip so we could roast the marshmallows over a fire. Go figure I sliced one of my fingers wide open, but at the time I didn’t think it was too bad. So I went inside and washed it out and threw a few Band-Aids over it and ran back outside to make a s’more before my brother used up all the marshmallow’s. The next morning my mom saw it and flipped. She said it was bad enough where I probably had needed 4 or 5 stiches but since it had started healing up by then it would have been pointless to go to the doctors.

Now we are college students and we are going to have to make the call about whether to go to a doctor or not. So what classifies as a “doctor-appropriate” injury? If you don’t go to the doctor what would you do instead? Just throw on a Band-Aid like I did, or are there other ways to treat injuries?

 ….

And on a side note I find it really frustrating that my spell check doesn’t recognize s’more as a real word. So I dictionary.com-ed it and said no definition existed for s’more. But my real paper dictionary and oxfords online dictionary said s’more is a real word! Someone should definitely fix my spell check and dictionary.com

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 3, 2011 at 1:26 am

    I think that the ability to decide whether or not an injury is serious enough to go seek professional care is something that comes with age. Obviously when you were younger you needed your parents to help you make those judgement calls, but now that we’re in college and we’re on our own, it’s time to make those decisions for ourselves! The good thing is that we’re not alone, so you can always get someone else’s opinion if you really need it! I wouldn’t worry though, I’m sure you’re perfectly capable of judging whether or not you need to go to the hospital for an injury.

    However, I think this is a very good question for internal injuries or sicknesses. I know some people that run to a doctor at the first sign at a tickle in their throats, and others who haven’t seen one in over ten years. I think a lot of times it depends on how well you know yourself and your body. My friend who goes to Fordham recently had a very dangerous kidney infection, and the only way that she detected this was when she had a really high fever and her friend called the ambulence for her. I personally would probably not think to call an ambulence for a fever, but I’m very glad that her friend did! I guess sometimes it is better to be safe then sorry.

  2. November 3, 2011 at 1:51 pm

    I am a strong believer of not going to the doctor unless you absolutely have to. I wait until I’ve been sick for over a week before I finally give in and make an appointment. However in the past few months I have come to truly appreciate doctors a lot more. This summer after being sick and have weird aches and pains for over a week I finally ended going to the doctor. They ran some tests (I assumed they would come back unexciting) and told me they would call me later. Later that night as I sat on my couch reading a book, the doctor called me back with a slight urgency in her voice. She told me I needed to go to the emergency room because the inflammation levels in my body were very, very high. After a spinal tap, awful headaches, lots of drugs, and a blood patch in my spine, it turns out I got Lyme Disease. After four days I left the hospital, achier and more tired than I went in, and recovered in a couple weeks. Looking back on the experience now I realize how amazing and how far medical science has come. I may have suffered through a lot of needles and a mean doctor who yelled at me for crying, but they cured me. I don’t technically have Lyme Disease anymore and I am not going to have any long term effects. If I had chosen to stay home and not go to the doctors I would have gotten worse and the longer I waited the more likely I would have had long-term effects of the disease. The science and knowledge at the doctors office is truly amazing and certainly could be worth the trip.

  3. November 3, 2011 at 6:57 pm

    I hardly make a trip to the doctors unless it’s for something like a physical or immunizations. Firstly, I rarely get sick and when I do it’s definitely an ER situation. When I have a fever or a cold I’ll take over the counter medications and I’ll usually be fine in a week. Other than that, I’ve been pretty lucky and have only have had to go to the hospital once for stitches which wasn’t that bad since I was out in an hour. I guess I can say I’m lucky since I’ve had to serious illnesss that would cause me to be admitted. Even as a child I just had my yearly check ups. In the end it depends on the person and their pain tolerance. It takes a lot for me to have to go to the doctor but for other people they might have their doctor’s cell number on speed dial.

  4. November 4, 2011 at 4:32 pm

    For me a doctor’s trip seems fairly regular, throughout my life I have gotten used to going to hospitals and basically lost the fear of them. While I may have more regularly scheduled appointments is doesn’t mean I take going there lightly if I am sick. I basically never go if I have not been sick for a while. My mother sent me off to school with enough cold medications to cure me and all my room mates if needed. I wait it out normally, just hoping things will get better. I am one of those people that does not want to go through the ordeal of a trip to the doctor if not needed, but for me it seems to be needed often. I agree that it really depends on the person, my room mate went immediately so they found out quickly that she has mono and now she is with her family for the week rather than her getting the rest of us sick. But even if you are afraid of the doctor I think the annual is important, I always hated it because it meant shots to me but it is necessary.

  5. November 6, 2011 at 8:35 pm

    Throughout my 18 years I’ve suffered 4 broken wrists, a broken thumb, and a few sprained bones here and there, so let’s just say I’m pretty familiar with the emergency room. Because of this I often find myself avoiding the doctor’s office as much as possible, I’ll often compare my current injury to a past one and justify not going to the doctor because it isn’t as painful as that broken wrist I had in 9th grade. And now that I’m off at college I have a feeling it’ll get even worse, at least back at home we had our parents around to force us to go for a check-up once and a while, but now we are off on our own and the only person who can make you go to the doctor is yourself. And I know for me that means I won’t be seeing a doctor anytime soon unless death seems like a very real possibility.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

