Home > Uncategorized > National Novel Writing Month… Give it a try

National Novel Writing Month… Give it a try

Now I know this isn’t exactly science related, but I just wanted to take a moment to talk about how November is National Novel Writing Month. Every year the website http://www.nanowrimo.org/ has a contest where they challenge you to write 50,000 words of your novel from November 1st to November 30th. Your novel can be about literally anything as long as its a story and 50,000 words long. People hold events all around the city and have write ins where basically you come and just write with a bunch of people. I participated last year but due to lack of time I was unable to reach 50,000 words. This year I have the perfect idea and am determined to make it to the big 50,000. Its only day two and I’m already at 2,744 words. If you get to 50,000 words they have special deals where one company will print 5 free paperback copies of your novel. It’s a really cool program and I hope at least a few of you attempt to make it. And remember it doesn’t have to be a really sophisticated book, the goal is to get  a rough draft and maybe it will lead to it being fully published in the future. Have fun and Good luck! If you have any questions I can attempt to answer them in the comments.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ms
    November 3, 2011 at 7:28 pm

    Ah this is so cool! I only wish I had the time/patience to devote to a project of that size! Please keep us/me updated with yours, I’d love to hear all about your idea and to find out if you make it, GOODLUCK 🙂

  1. November 23, 2011 at 12:46 pm

Leave a Reply

