Home > Uncategorized > Doctors vs. Patients

Doctors vs. Patients

A while ago, I was talking to a friend about doctors, and how they often seem to lack compassionate toward their patients. I came across this article that explains the other side of the would-be obvious side to take that doctor’s absolutely should feel compassion for their patients. I thought it was interesting the way the authors seems to divide doctors into more technically inclined versus those who are more socially inclined. Although it would be ideal to have a doctor with both characteristics, the author seems skeptical as to whether or not it is possible. The author also views doctors as more or less lenient toward patients, whether or not the doctor will be more willing to perform extra tests or cater their examination more to the patients’ requests or not.

I’m wondering if you guys think if it is possible or not, to have a “all-in-one” doctor, and of course why?

Would it be a good thing to have more lenient doctors, or not? And why?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. November 2, 2011 at 4:46 pm

    I think it is possible, you just have to build a good relationship with your physician. Everyone should choose their doctor based on skill, education and experience. Once that doctor becomes a regular part of your life, patients can make that connection and form a different kind of relationship with the benefit of him or her being a capable doctor. At least that’s how it worked out for me!

  2. November 2, 2011 at 11:18 pm

    I have had my share of experiences with doctors and I think has many components, how long you have known them, what you are seeing them for, how comfortable you are with them, the list goes on. I have had some doctors that were mean, that I knew the second I walked in that I was not going to enjoy the experience, but then I have had others that I wanted to remind them that I was there for an appointment and to get back on topic, he kept talking about his life! My family even goes surfing and wake boarding with my dad’s surgeon, that may tell you how many times he has had surgery on that leg! He just keeps breaking it, and they keep putting screws in it, I swear it is more metal than bone now. Then there is my general doctor who is actually my neighbor so that is a little weird. But I guess it really depends on how comfortable you are with them, because if they know you want to just leave they are not going to spend the time either.

  3. November 2, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    There’s a thing in the medical field. Doctors are told that they should not treat their own family. This is because they can either be over- concerned, or not concerned enough. From experience I can tell you that whenever I get hurt my mom (who’s in Med school) just asks have you taken Advil yet? Along with, have you iced it yet? Then if I still have issues with it she will take me to another doctor just because she doesn’t want to misdiagnose me. I think it’s good for a doctor to be compassionate, but if they have too much compassion how will the doctors be able to make a decision from whether one injury is more important than another. Also if they run a x-ray for every hurt ankle or finger, would the health care coverage have to raise their prices??? I think this is a two sided knife, what does everyone else think?

  4. November 3, 2011 at 1:50 am

    I think that the relationships between doctors and patients can be very interesting. In some cases, you’re practically strangers to each other and only discuss the medical aspect of your doctor visits. There are also the doctor-patient relationships that go beyond just the small talk and medical talk. I have been going to the same doctor for practically my whole life (okay, I’ll admit it: I still see a pediatrician) and I have a very close relationship to that doctor. However, I must admit that those visits are becoming increasingly awkward now that I’m not the little girl that she’s used to seeing! Having this relationship with my doctor makes going to see her a much more enjoyable experience, and I’m able to speak comfortably about whatever I’m seeing her for.

    It is very important for doctors to not only have high medical skills but also they must have pretty good social skills. This is something that I don’t realy think about that much, but I remember watching a video in my Anatomy class in high school that was about the process of becoming a doctor, and most of them said they had to take some kinds of communications classes and work on being sociable. I think this must be difficult for a lot of doctors with impeccable medical skills but with social skills that are lacking and vice versa. The social aspect is not really something that I think about when I think of doctors, but it’s an interesting point to bring up. Thanks!

  5. November 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    As I mentioned in a different comment, I dealt a very mean doctor this summer. When in the hospital for Lyme Disease, I needed a blood patch because there was spinal fluid leaking in my spinal column. I was pretty much freaking out and did not want to do it but I was getting awful headaches and this was the only way to fix them. I was shaking and crying and the doctor came in and started yelling at me. He told me I couldn’t cry and I couldn’t move and he didn’t have to do this because I was 18 so I could make my medical choices. Of course, this made me cry more and I still didn’t want more needles in my spine. Eventually he did the procedure and my headaches were cured five minutes later . The doctor was unnecessarily mean and unkind, but he did make my headaches go away. In this case I guess I would prefer a mean doctor who does a good job than a friendly doctor who would not fix my problem. His job was to give me a blood patch in my spine and thats what he did, he just wasn’t very nice about it. Thankfully it made me feel better after.

  6. November 7, 2011 at 4:44 am

    Well, as it was said in the show House, MD, “Hell is other people.” Well I suppose after years of medical school, interning and residency, other people can be hell, especially if they aren’t medical personnel. I think that the doctor-patient relationship is, in most circumstances, a formal, superficial one. To me that’s how it should be: patient in, examined, treated, discharged, repeat with next patient. Now in cases of cancer, HIV/AIDS, or any other life altering/ending ailment, personal involvement is and should be demanded in greater quantity.

    I’m not saying that I’d like my doctor to be cold and unfriendly, but if I had to choose between a doctor that makes a calculated, educated and completely professional decision about my medical treatment and one that is emotionally and mentally compromised by how they feel about me or my situation, I’d go with the former. So, as much as I’d like a sensitive and personable physician, I have to be realistic and recognize that my doctor treats hundreds of patients at any given time and I am just one of them, and he/she can’t take away from one patient’s care to focus on my personal life.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

