Home > Uncategorized > Do you believe in ghosts?

Do you believe in ghosts?

Boo! Welcome to our first Halloween weekend at GWU. Being mischief night, there’s nothing I’d rather be doing than our weekly blog post! While browsing the internet like I usually do when I’m hard core procrastinating, I ran across an article on Live Science, which had an entire section on Halloween related phenomena, news and more. One the stuck out most to me was called Americans’ Beliefs in Paranormal Phenomena which was really an info graphic. Personally, I don’t know if I believe in ghosts but I definitely think there is some kind of supernatural force or being. Paranormal Activity, one of the more recent scary movies, really solidified my belief. For anyone who’s seen Paranormal 1, 2 or 3, they know exactly what I mean when a door slams shut and you’re home alone.

In the article, it talks about different paranormal experiences such as telepathy, psychics, reincarnations, spirits, etc. Media, itself, is a huge influence on America’s belief in the paranormal. It mentions that places like haunted houses are designed and have premonitions to be scary therefore we’re previously suggested to be scared. In addition, we we become scared we also become extraordinarily alert and hear things we otherwise might now have such as distant footsteps. The article also talked about how seniors and graduate students believe more in these questionable ideas that college freshman though. I thought that study was the most interesting since it correlates with the level of education the students have had. The article ends with a final word that these experiences seem a lot less scarier when we know what is going on. It uses the example of a Ouija board and how once we know it works, which is explained in Lindsay article, it becomes much less scary. Do you guys believe in paranormal phenomenas or have had any experiences with it?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 31, 2011 at 1:59 am

    One time, I was playing guitar, and my sister walked into the room. I was playing a song called Black Dog by Led Zeppelin, and my sister said “Led Zeppelin sucks. John Bonham is a crappy drummer.”

    Then all of a sudden, the room became cold, and my radio went off by itself. I did not set the alarm on for that time. The song that played was The Immigrant Song by Led Zeppelin. I tried to turn it off, but I could not. I kept switching it off, but it wouldn’t turn off. Then, when the 2 minute song was over, the radio turned off by itself and the room became warm again.

    Both my sister and I was awestruck. To this day, I believe that I was visited by the ghost of the deceased legendary drummer, the hammer of the gods, John Bonham.

  2. October 31, 2011 at 3:51 am

    I never believed in ghosts or any of the sort, but that is not to say that I will not freak myself out when I hear noises at night when I am alone. My family has spent years hiding around corners to scare me and watching scary movies. Haunted houses were always a big deal for us, I even went to one here to keep up the halloween tradition. I love the holiday but I never believed in any of the parts behind it. Paranormal activity just seemed silly to me rather than scary, as with most of the so called scary movies. So I was surprised that the study found that so many people believed in ghosts, witches, psychics and the sort. I was really surprised about the Ouija boards, I only ever saw these in movies has anyone ever used one?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

