Home > Uncategorized > Reincarnation

Reincarnation

The other day, a couple of my friends and I were discussing reincarnation as we were having dinner at a Chinese restaurant near Columbia Plaza. We were discussing the possibility of reincarnation, as well as debating whether or not animals have souls. I told them that I believe that if reincarnation is real, it can also be explained through science.

In a Science Channel documentary called “Through the Wormhole“, hosted by Morgan Freeman, scientists have proved that our brains are connected telepathically. The scientists did an experiment where two people are in separate rooms, and one person is subjected to patterns on a screen as a mental stimulant. The other was not. They two people could not see each other, or hear each other. However, once the mental stimulant was shown to one of the test subjects, the other, in a completely separate room, began to show mental patterns that are similar, albeit weaker than the first person. Perhaps, brains do release a sort of energy, not unlike how a cellphone tower transmits and directs microwaves.

So, my theory is that every person releases this kind of energy, with a different frequency; and the frequency determines your identity, much like radio waves. When a person dies, his or her brain can no longer hold all the energy, so it releases it. When it is released, it tries to find a new home. The new home has to be a container with a very small amount of that kind of energy, so it can fit inside that brain. It could be a fetus, or even a fertilized chicken egg.

In my theory, this energy is what people have called a “soul”, and that all animals have a “soul”, even the ones with a lower mental capacity. After all, if the “soul” is a person’s identity, your identity doesn’t change when you go in a new vehicle. The only thing that changes is your physical capacity, much like how if you come out of a Corvette, and get inside a M1A1 Abrams Battle Tank.

I understand that this is not exactly science. However, I’m just curious. What do you guys think of my theory? Am I completely crazy? What are some of your theories regarding the afterlife? And do you think it can be explained by science?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ms
    October 30, 2011 at 9:48 pm

    I think there is definite truth in your theory. Just as you said, a certain energy is released from each person that constitutes their ‘soul.’ Born and raised Hindu, I am a firm believer in reincarnation. Much like your idea that the soul exists regardless of the form it takes, Hinduism alludes to the idea that our souls live on in new humans after we perish. While indestructible and indivisible, the soul takes form in a body that eventually perishes before moving to another. Scientific or not, I think this is very true, as we often see certain late relatives in young children born into the family.

  2. October 30, 2011 at 10:04 pm

    hmm, sometimes, I wonder if the “soul” is perishable or indivisible. Perhaps, the “soul” can not escape the Earth’s atmosphere, and that it’s kept on the surface of the Earth. However, if it does escape the atmosphere, you’re going to be floating in space until you find some alien baby.

    I’ve actually had an experience similar to the experiment in Through the Wormhole. During the summer, there was one day that was absolutely miserable. I had many things to worry about and the weather was depressing. However, at around noon, I just kept smiling. I was happy, and excited, and felt that everything was perfect.

    When I went home that night, I talked my my best friend. She revealed to me that the editors of Seventeen picked her off the street, through a book signing with one of the cast members of Pretty Little Liars, and randomly gave her an internship. It happened at around noon, and I was completely astonished.

    So, I do believe that brains do send traces of that type of energy and other brains that are tuned into it, are able to pick up those signals. It’s kind of like subscribing to your favorite magazine.

  3. October 30, 2011 at 10:58 pm

    I have never been a real believer in the ideas of souls. Probably because to me the idea of souls goes hand in hand with the idea of an afterlife, going to heaven and angels. I was never raised to believe i he afterlife. Though my mom is a strong believer in heaven my brother and I are not so sure, and my dad could not be farther against the idea. I always thought of mind and body as separate but never made the distinction of a soul. I have always assumed there is just nothing after you die. I just figured I didn’t remember anything before I was born, why would there be anything after. But the idea of an energy between people is interesting to me. It seems more spiritual that religious. But I am still just very unsure about the whole thing.

  4. October 31, 2011 at 12:01 am

    I thoroughly enjoyed reading this post – I feel as though it is one of the most ‘outside-of-the-box’ entries that can be found up to this point on the class blog. It’s content actually holds particular relevance in terms of my current academic experience; my UW group project relates to the intersection between science and spirituality.

    I would by no means consider myself a religious man in any traditional sense. I am, however, spiritual, and maintain the firm belief that there are forces in this universe that cannot necessarily be justified by the laws of science (or at least how we have come to understand them). Accordingly, I find it peculiar – and in many ways counterproductive – that your theory attempts to apply a set of mechanical properties to govern a notion that is simply beyond conventional explanation.

    When speaking of the supernatural, any attempt to claim scientific validity is futile. Scientists are naturally pigheaded individuals, indignantly refusing to accept that their own rigidly-defined rules of the universe can be made to fit what they do not understand. And that’s perfectly okay. If you believe in something, whether it be a divine power or incarnation, you don’t need a justification. Maybe it’s principles are beyond human understand. Maybe it just happens.

    Take, for example, my own belief in karma. I feel as though an individual, at some point during life, is rewarded based on the decisions that he or she has made. It’s a hunch. I have no facts or figures to support the theory. There are no advanced physics equations that can be used to prove or deny it. It feels right, and that’s enough to make me feel comfortable with the notion.

    If you are passionate about a particular belief, it matters not one bit whether or not the entire world disagrees. If an idea makes sense to you on some level, I dare say that’s as good of an explanation as you’ll ever need.

    • October 31, 2011 at 2:44 am

      Feel free to use what I said in my post. Just don’t forget to cite me. You can ask Professor Myers for my real name.

  5. October 31, 2011 at 12:33 am

    I always liked the idea of karma. The idea of you get what you give, what comes around goes around. That overall everything balances out. Now I have no idea if things actually do this. I guess that is what I struggle with, I like having the proof. I am not good at just following something on belief alone like many others. I have met many people that can fully follow a belief system on what to me seems like very little. Bu they have faith in it where I can not. I like your explanation that it doesn’t matter what anyone else thinks as long as you believe. It is your life follow what you want, and let others do the same.

  6. October 31, 2011 at 1:03 am

    I am not a very religious person but I was raised to always be respectful of other people’s religious beliefs, no matter the circumstances. I believe that no matter how ridiculous someone else’s beliefs seem to you, clearly they are important to that person and it is not your position to decide what is fact and what is fiction. Now with that said I also believe that there are limits to what can be considered a justified beliefs, there are many unanswered questions, to which a religion often provides an answer to its believers, but there are also a large number of answered questions that religion provides answers to as well and this is where conflicts often arise. While yes science has its limits, it is still viable as fact the reason we view it as fact is because it is proven, which is why when religions attempt to dispute these fact they are ridiculed and insulted. Now I am not trying to say that I believe we should side with religions just because they say so, but that we should attempt to be as understanding as possible when we discuss our beliefs and the beliefs of others.

  7. October 31, 2011 at 1:59 am

    I think a person’s religion really affects their view on this topic so to scientifically prove this would be rather difficult. Moreover, i believe in reincarnation simply because I was brought up to think that way. I mean I’m not exactly sure how it would work but I could imagine it being like your soul/ energy relationship. When a person dies, I think their soul lives through a different body whether it be a person or an aspect of nature.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

