Home > Uncategorized > Psychics: What’s Your Opinion?

Psychics: What’s Your Opinion?

Last year, a few of my friends decided to go to a psychic. They drove about a half hour away, paid $15, and had tarot card readings. They were absolutely thrilled with the results. The three girls that went all said that they were so accurate and so insightful. One psychic told my friend that she had gotten in a college in Rhode Island, and my friend had just gotten accepted to University of Rhode Island. I found this impressive, that the psychic could tell them what had recently happened to them in such specific terms, but I still wasn’t buying it. They also told me that they had told them very general statements and the girls could automatically find connections to them. This is the part that I think is ridiculous. It is like horoscopes, they are very general and if people want them to connect to their lives they will find those connections. I also felt like I wasn’t getting the complete story when I talked to my friends. One of them mentioned that if a card cam up that didn’t relate to you then it was just skipped. So essentially if the psychic said something that was accurate they just moved on, to a card where they could impress the girls with their “psychic power.” The girls were planning on going back and wanted me to go with them but I was not about to waste $15 to have someone tell me that “at some point in college I will find love.”

Today when I thought of this occurrence I decided to do some research into psychics and what their tricks are. I found something called “http://www.skepdic.com/coldread.html.” This is a technique used not only by psychics, but also some therapists, palmistry, and for channeling the dead. There are many characteristics of cold reading, the first being what is called “fishing.” This is the idea that the psychic could throw something out to the client and if the client responds positively then the psychic will go with that and keep going with that idea. If the cline responds negatively the psychic will appear to know more than the client knows and then move on. Fishing for the right information or topic is just one characteristics of cold reading.

Another characteristic of cold reading is vague statements or questions that will most likely apply to the client. I believe the psychics that my friends visited probably did a lot of that and my friends were able to make their own connections. The last characteristic involved in cold reading is reading body language. If they are good at reading body language they can tell if something vibes with the client or not. These characteristics that create cold reading, to me, prove that psychics may not be as legitimate as people believe.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 29, 2011 at 10:35 pm

    This is a very interesting topic! I’m also very curious about psychic behavior and how it really works. I believed that it was a lie all the way through, but it is very interesting how they have the power to control the direction of the conversation. The fact that they use cold reading is kind of scary but it seems to be real. I mean real in the sense that for, as long as the conversation lasts, they have the power to link their predictions to personal information. The thing is, that I believe that they only make the connection, and later you realize, or at least you see the connection as something tangible and appliable to yourself and that is what scares you. However, it’s only you relating what the psychihc said to a personal experience or memory. The psychich doesn’t really have to know about every single detail.
    This is very cool, I would like to read some more feedback and see what you guys think.

  2. October 30, 2011 at 6:52 pm

    I recently started watching a TV show called Psych, where a man named Shawn is hired by the local police force to be a psychic detective. He is not really psychic, but rather is extremely observant. He uses small details to piece together what had happened. I wouldn’t say I’m a believer in magic or mythical abilities, but I do believe people can be very good at reading other people, just as Shawn does, to draw conclusions about people. I’m not sure how fortune tellers do it, but it is fun to get your fortune told at a carnival or fair. It goes to show that first impressions can be important!

  3. October 30, 2011 at 9:12 pm

    I do believe that there are real psychics, and that everyone is capable of “psychic” activity, but I don’t believe in tarot cards, crystal balls, or fortune cookies. Though the last one is probably the most accurate of the three.

  4. October 30, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I also find this really interesting, and have once or twice wanted to go see what a psychic would have to say to me. I don’t believe that anyone really has psychic powers, but I am interested in the”cold reading” that you talked about and would like to read more about the tactics that psychics use. I think that they are like horoscopes (which I always love reading and applying to my life) in that they use general statements that almost anyone can find a connection to. However real they may or may not be, I think its an interesting concept to explore.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

