Home > Uncategorized > Smithsonian

Smithsonian

This weekend a friend and I decided to go to a Smithsonian. We thought it was sad that we lived in DC but had not gone to one since moving in, I mean even my parents have gone since I moved in. That is what they spent the friday of parents weekend doing while I was in class, and they loved it. But we felt like it was something we had to do. We go on runs to the capital building a lot so we always go by them but we never go in. So this time we decided it was time to go inside.

We went to the Smithsonian Natural History Museum, mostly because I really wanted to see the dinosaurs. As we walked through the dinosaur exhibit I realized that all I knew about dinosaurs was from either Jurassic Park or A Land Before Time, probably not the most accurate representations but I enjoyed the movies and have seen Jurassic Park a hundred times, that may be an exaggeration.

We made our way through the exhibits, seeing mammals, the evolution of man, geology, sea animals, even a mummy. The mummy really scared my friend, she did not like the idea that it was a real dead body in front of her. I was just amazed that a full grown man from 2,000 years ago was so much shorter than girls today, he looked so small. The geology exhibit was amazing with the huge diamonds, and of course the hope diamond. There was even a new exhibit where they used modern technology to see how colonists died, or they could tell from the bones how these people lived their lives, based on the common stressors from certain jobs.

I had been to the Smithsonian museum back in fifth grade, the last time I had been to D.C. before any thoughts of GW or college searches had ever crossed my mind. But back then it seemed so much different, it seemed a lot more boring then. I was running through with my class and my mom was there. She reads every single plaque there is in the museum, so while this time I may not have learned everything I learned about what I wanted to and cut out the rest.

Have any of you gone to the Smithsonians since being at GW? Which is the best? Does anyone else have the experience of it being different when older?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 24, 2011 at 1:25 am

    I unfortunately have not been in any of the Smithsonian museums since I have moved in, but I did go to the National Air & Space Museum this past January. That seems like a long time ago, but before that, I had only been there once before when I was about 10. So with almost a decade time difference, the museum looked completely different that I remembered. I had always recalled the museum as being very spacious on the floor, but having a lot of planes and rockets hanging from the ceiling; but after this more recent trip, I was corrected. The floor was covered, especially on the left side of the museum (from when you walk in the doors)! In that part of the museum, there are loads of rocket ships and other space equipment.

    But other than the layout, I had a better appreciation for the museum than when I was 10. First, because I was more aware of the significance of most of the planes and rockets on displayed; and second because I was more interested in the information that was available, rather than just looking at the big planes. So, the museum didn’t really change that much, I just grew up.

  2. October 24, 2011 at 2:04 am

    I just went to the American History Museum today, because like you, my friends and I realized that we’ve been here for two months and still haven’t seen much.

    I had never been before, but there were really cool exhibits. We walked through “The American Presidency”, “First Ladies at the Smithsonian”, “America at War”, and “Toying with Invention”. “Toying with Invention” was my favorite because it was an interactive exhibit (which was honestly for kids) about invention and science.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

