Home > Uncategorized > Pitch

Pitch

After having finally turned in my Essay #2, I now turn to the project pitch. Reading over the assignment and recently added FAQ, I wonder what I’m going to present about. Though I have done some preliminary research, I still don’t have a clue as to what I will narrow down and eventually chose as my idea.

I know this blog post is somewhat unconventional and rather short, but what are your thoughts on good jumping off points? Where are you personally at with your idea and pitch? Any advice for someone (or some people) here who may still be struggling? Ideally, the comments below can serve as a sort of forum of discussion for us as we spend our Sunday’s finalizing our ideas.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 23, 2011 at 8:58 pm

    I seem to be at the sam point as you. I can think about things I like, things I enjoy, but I don’t know what I am passionate about. I guess this would explain why I am an undeclared major and have no idea what I want to do after college, I am not so good with decision making. But then there is the next part that I keep getting stuck on, how do I connect it to science? I guess anything could be connected to science but it seems like a stretch for most things. Then how do I choose something that you guys will be interested in as well? I think that is what really gets me. How do I choose a topic that you guys will also want to spend time writing about, because it is not just me writing about this for once. I don’t know about you but most of the time when it is someone else choosing a topic for me I don’t normally like it, most essays I have been assigned are not the greatest topics. So I wonder what would we all have in common? Or at least a few of us.

  2. October 23, 2011 at 9:40 pm

    Yeah I’ve been thinking the same thing. Talking about our project pitches is definitely a good way to use the blog!

    I really liked the blogs we looked at in class. Specifically, I am a fan of the Huffington Post. As a journalism junkie majoring in political communication in the School of Media and Public Affairs, I find Arianna Huffington’s model for blogging extremely interesting. The Post is a perfect example of how journalism is changing to fit the needs of our modern age: it is informal, not all journalists are paid, it doesn’t always appeal to the established norm of objectivity, but it is relevant, easy to read, and is successful in connecting with a large audience.

    For my pitch, I am going to focus on the Huffington Post. But I’m not going to focus on the Healthy Living section that we discussed in class. Rather, I want to look specifically at the section entitled, “Tell Me Why” section.

    My thesis is, essentially, this: Science these days, as it pertains to the general public, has less to do with technical terms and specifics and small advances in technology here or there. Rather, it focuses on elements and ideas that are important to human beings. The “Tell Me Why” section of the Huffington Post is science-related, but it is also very geared towards providing the “Average-Joe” reader with information that is relevant and that can be used to live a better lifestyle.

    I think this blog is a good choice because it brings together the three themes of this class: Science, Culture and Media. This would be my advice for anyone who is maybe struggling on what sort of “community” to pick: choose an area that encompasses all three of these essential pillars.There are a lot of sources that do so, the three that we looked at in class last week just to name a few.

    “Tell Me Why” encompasses Science because it attempts to answer science related–albeit quirky–questions. It encompasses Media because, as a new journalistic form (blogging, also known as citizen journalism) it presents many challenges and questions about how information will be shared with the public in the modern day and in the future. It relates to Culture because, as I said, the general public doesn’t want to know about cells, etc. They want to know about things that are relevant to them. The way science intersects with culture through media is at the center of the Huffington Post, and that’s why I am choosing it for my project pitch.

    Good luck everybody!

  3. October 23, 2011 at 10:43 pm

    I am completely drawing a blank about this project. Like lmorella said, there are so many components that go into it: finding something that you’re interested in, figuring out how it relates to science and choosing something that others will also enjoy researching and writing about. I’m currently having the most difficulty with connecting communities that I would be interested in writing about with how they look at and present science. This assignment is definitely something different for me, I am usually a very indicisive person and I like a lot of instruction. The openness of this project is a bit overwhelming to me- but I know that it is a good thing and I should be happy that I get the opportunity to finally choose what I write about! I guess because it is such a rare opportunity to be able to choose your own subject to write about, I feel more pressure to choose the perfect topic.
    I think that jpeligri’s advice to choose something that science, culture and media is very helpful and I will keep that in mind when searching for my community! Good luck everyone.

  4. October 24, 2011 at 12:38 am

    I was struggling at the point ms was at for a while. I had a lot of ideas- surfing, CNN and the death of their science unit- but they just didn’t seem right. They all had to do with science, culture, and media, but I didn’t want to spend from now until the end of the semester with them.

    My solution was a little different though. Instead of thinking about science and media, I totally got away from it and thought about interesting conversations that I’ve had lately. The conversation that I landed on was one in a car with two defense workers that are friends of my family, one works at the Pentagon and the other at the National Geospatial-Intelligence Agency. Thinking about what they said propelled me to my topic- the way the American intelligence community perceives science.

    Hope this helps! Good luck to all of us late night procrastinators.

  5. October 24, 2011 at 1:48 am

    Okay, I finally figured out what i’ going to do with my pitch and I wanted to share what I did so maybe it could help some of you!

    I think the best way to find your pitch community is to go through a lot of your interests, not thinking about anything but really search through them. I think that once you start really looking at whatever that thing is, you will be able to see a connection to science in some way.

    My ‘community’ is not really an obvious science community, which I actually think will make researching easier because there could be more to research than just scientific things. Since I’m not too much of a science person, this would make the project a lot easier I think.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

