Home > Uncategorized > Cell Phones Don’t Cause Cancer

Cell Phones Don’t Cause Cancer

Have you ever been told that using your cell phone too much might lead to cancer?  I know that I’ve heard it, and that I’ve always been a little worried about using my phone frequently and sleeping with it charging next to my bed.  All the studies and experiments revolving around cancer have made me wary about anything that has the possibility to cause it.  However, after reading this article, I am slightly more at ease.

The article says that a recent Danish study found that cell phones do not cause tumors, as it has been rumored for a number of years.  This experiment studied long-term use of cell phones, over a period of 18 years, a topic upon which previous results have been found inconclusive.  The study looked for a link between cell phone usage and damage to the central nervous system, specifically tumors.  Using a large number of people as test subjects and tracking their health for many years, the researchers found no link between cell phone usage and brain and nervous system tumors.  The scientists recommended that more experiments be conducted on this same topic.

So what do you think?  Did you believe, like me, that there was some risk in using your cell phone constantly?   Are you happy to hear that there is finally some evidence against it?  What other studies have you heard of proving or disproving something commonly used causing cancer?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ms
    October 23, 2011 at 5:43 pm

    My mom has told me for YEARS that there is some correlation between extensive cell phone use and cancer cells. Finally, I can prove her wrong! Haha, but really, this post is really reassuring to me because I too sleep with it charging just inches from my brain. I use my phone for hours and hours at a time, often until the battery completely dies on me. It’s really great to know that I WON’T be giving myself cancer by catching up with my friends back home on the phone for a while.

  2. October 23, 2011 at 9:06 pm

    I always heard that, one of my friends was so worried he wouldn’t even buy a phone for the longest time. But lets face it, what at this point doesn’t cause cancer, there are types of plastics in reusable water bottles, hair dyes, antiperspirants, cosmetics, lead paint the list goes on and on. It is not just smoking that gives you cancer anymore, it is all around us. I don’t mean this as a thing to scare you but more of a way of saying one more added carcinogen in your life probably wasn’t gonna be the thing to push you over the edge and into chemo. But its probably good cell phones aren’t bad for us we are too addicted to them to be without them.
    But on another note, keeping your phone plugged in all night kills you battery life. Slowly over time your phone will not last as long. It is this weird thing that happens to phones but when you overcharge them, like leaving them plugged in the whole time you sleep it is actually bad for them.

  3. October 23, 2011 at 9:22 pm

    Imorella brought up a point I began to think about as I was reading this article, the sad truth behind studies like this is that even if they proved that cell phones caused cancerous tumors, it would be nearly impossible for people, especially teenagers like ourselves to stop using them. You may think that you would, but when push comes to shove, it would be nearly impossible to give it up, we are too accustomed to being connected the globe 24/7, and just giving that up cold turkey isn’t a possibility. In a survey on cell phone usage in teenagers, 57% of teens said their cell phone was the key to their social life, and nobody is just going to toss that in the trash just because some guy and his science said it might cause cancer. Also in this same study, 47% of teens said their social life would end or be severely worsened without their cell phones; a statistic that to me proves that our generation is has a serious addiction.

    The article regarding the survey can be found here http://www.marketingcharts.com/interactive/cell-phones-key-to-teens-social-lives-47-can-text-with-eyes-closed-6126/

  4. October 24, 2011 at 2:30 am

    I never really worried about getting cancer from my cell phone but I am happy that some information has been found to the contrary. However, I agree with the ideas of others that I’m not sure that it ever really mattered because even as the rumors were saying that cancer was a possiblity cell phone usage increased. However, given that the rumor hasn’t been around that long only since 2008, when Herberman issued a warning that there was no evidence that cell phones would not be harmful in the future. Therefore, I would still use caution in believing any studies whole-heartedly until the theory is at least ten to fifteen years old.

  1. October 24, 2011 at 2:34 am

Leave a Reply

