Home > Uncategorized > iCloud, Facebook, and Privacy

iCloud, Facebook, and Privacy

Am I the only person here who does not trust iCloud. I think it’s a flowery name for saying “Death to Privacy”. iCloud enables you to store all of your information into online servers that allow you to pick up that information from another computer. If your server gets hacked, all of your information, from work, personal life, etc. will be available for all to see even if they are not in possession of the source.

I’m actually quite afraid that it might be all that we have in the future, and as a person who never trusts the government, I’m quite worried that this might take away our choice to live a private life.

Facebook on the other hand, had a recent update that allows for more efficient stalking. It allows other people to see the articles that you have read in other sites, songs that you have listened to on Pandora, and videos that you’ve watched on Youtube. Sounds like someone is always watching what you’re doing. The sidebar on the upper right corner tells you everything that your “friends” are doing on Facebook; the messages they send, the photos that they post or comment on, etc.

I understand that we can fix that by changing the settings, but did you guys know that every time there is a new Facebook update, your privacy settings are set back to default and you’re vulnerable to the “evil eyes and evil ears”.

I actually started the process of permanently deleting my Facebook account. It requires fourteen days for the entire process to be completed. However, due to pressure from a few friends, I  decided to keep my Facebook account, with a catch. I deleted more than half of my “friends”. I went from over 600 friends to the current 240 that I have now. I also tightened my security, and hopefully people can not peek into my private life.

 

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 22, 2011 at 6:46 pm

    What is your problem? It’s the 21st century. There is no such thing as privacy anymore. Besides, you wouldn’t be afraid if you have nothing to hide. Grow up.

  2. October 23, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    I never really had a lack of trust in this stuff. My dad actually woks for a security company that created a new way of securing the cloud network. But here I am not talking about iCloud, but all the personal information that you put online. Each company needs to find a way to secure its own network, that is what his product does. So I have been hearing about this stuff my whole life. Most of it has gone over my head, the 6 year old me did not care what happened inside the computer, I just wanted to play games. But now it seems much more serious as he talks about how to make sure my credit card information is safe online due to new technology or how different functions work.
    As for the government part, I don’t believe you are at a real risk of them taking over your private life, I don’t think they care that much about what you do, nor do they have the man power, or the authority.
    As for Facebook, here I agree the have, with each new update, found a new way to maximize stalking. All I have to do is go to my homepage and I can se the normal updates, but also the second by second ones. Even though it is not necessary to know this much about my friends and it does limit privacy, but I am not getting rid of my Facebook anytime soon, I am a bit too addicted.

  3. October 23, 2011 at 4:57 pm

    I also am slightly afraid of iCloud, and am happy to find that I am not the only one. My laptop prompted me to sign in to iCloud for the first time the other day, and I nervously ex-ed the window out, deciding that I would look at it another day. I am not particularly afraid the the government will look at my information, as I don’t do anything too important online, but I’m more worried about losing my files. I don’t like the idea that my files will be off in some unseen network as opposed to saved simply on my laptop. Facebook is similarly frightening, especially with its identification of “Places”, where it can update where you are logging in from. Having all of my “friends” know where I am at a certain moment in time is extremely unnecessary and makes stalking supremely simple. As our world gets more technologically advanced, I worry that it puts our safety at risk.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

