Home > Uncategorized > Apple

Apple

As GW is mostly Mac I thought we should bring up the new Iphone 4Gs. I have the 3Gs and it is water damaged and only alerts me to certain texts so I am debating switching.

It seems crazy that you can ask a phone questions and it will be able to respond. You can ask “Do I need an umbrella” and the phone can answer you. Or tell it to schedule an appointment, and if you are busy at that time and it will be able to tell you that you are busy and reschedule, even say what you want it to text and the phone will type and send the text for you. This seems crazy and almost robotic to me, like the futuristic television shows I watched as a kid. Are we stepping into the time where technology can actually do things for us, without the hassle?

Another change is iMessage. This is like BBM. It shows you when the text is sent and when the other person is reading it or even when they are typing out a reply. I am not so sure if this is a good thing. This cuts out the ability to ignore a text doesn’t it? There is no isolation, the other person can always tell what you are doing, where is the privacy? What do you guys think? I like getting back to someone later or having time to think about what to say without coming across as rude.

iCoud is cool, it automatically syncs all your photos, videos, calendar, documents, apps and all that other stuff you just have to have on your iPhone onto your computer. Which is nice so you don’t have to plug it in all the time but your stuff is still on your computer, which we all know is a mac. But the only thing is you can only use 5 gigs for free, past that you have to pay. My room mate found that out last night she was mad.

So what do you guys think about the new phone? Worth it? No? Do you guys have the old ones? Does anyone have the new one?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 19, 2011 at 5:00 pm

    Personally I love the new iPhone 4s. It isn’t a surprise that apple is even bettering their products so the futuristic, robotic technology isn’t a huge surprise. I’ve heard Siri is absolutely amazing and extremely helpful as is icloud. The imessaging I thought was also very beneficial. It sort of has an instant messaging type feel to it since you can see if the other person is typing or not. Although it does have a few cons, I think the pros definitely outweigh them. I highly recommend the new iPhone to everyone.

  2. ms
    October 20, 2011 at 2:48 am

    I also currently have the 3Gs. My main two issues with it are that 1. it doesn’t go on vibrate and 2. it receives terrible signal. Throughout the day, I won’t receive texts until random moments in which anywhere from one to half a dozen will all of a sudden appear. I also only actually get about 25-40% of all calls and rarely get voicemails to my inbox.
    My parent’s have ordered me the new 4s but I won’t get it till I go home for thanksgiving. Though I waited patiently for the ‘5,’ I’m not surprised apple pulled another stunt like this. Customers will now only be holding out for more surprises from apple; the move was honestly a marketing tactic in my opinion. In my case, I couldn’t care less what the 4s does and does not have, I just need a new phone. If you’re having problems with your 3Gs currently, why not just go for it! It’s brand new internal technology that will seem far more advanced than your current phone and of course, who doesn’t want Siri?

  3. October 20, 2011 at 3:12 am

    I guess I am one of those people that loves having the newest product. I hate that apple discontinued my computer, who doesn’t want the cute white MacBook. It was the perfect compromise between the Air and the Pro. For those of us who wanted a bigger screen and the ability to upload a CD, the Air was not an option, and for those too cheap to upgrade to the Pro, or who just didn’t see much of a reason to spend the extra money. But what I am saying is when I look out in my lecture halls and see nothing but silver Macs it is a little sad to know that my computer is no longer produced. So when I hear that the iPhone 5 may come out in June I debate waiting. That is my question. I know I want a new phone, and I know it will be an iPhone. BUt the question is will I wait until June? Will it even come out in June? Or will they wait another year?
    Apple always releases their new line of phones in June, but this year they switched things up, targeting those people who’s plans hag run up with their 3GS or 3G, those with other smart phones or those without smart phones. But this release was not targeted towards the people with the iPhone 4. Their 2 year contract had not run up yet, but many of these will run up in June, so will Apple release a new phone in June? Because then I would be disappointed in getting a 4Gs. I guess that whole idea of perceived obsolescence works on me in this sense, where devices seem old or unfashionable because they are not the newest product. How about you guys, do you always want the newest product? I do love anything apple…

  4. October 21, 2011 at 3:24 am

    I have the iPhone 4, and I absolutely love it! It can do everything and then more, and yet its still something so practical to everyday life. I cant believe that I missed this new phone by just a couple of months, but I really don’t care because I love this phone and it works great for me. I havent had any technical difficulties with it, and I cant find anything wrong with it.

    I think that we have definately stepped into the time when technology does things for us without hassle, and in some ways I think thats a bad thing because it makes us even more dependant on technology to do things. There is already a lot of things that we depend on technology, and it looks like we are heading to a point where we wont have to do anything anymore because technology will take care of everything.

    Unfortunately, with the more advanced technology there will be less privacy. We buy things online and put our personal information on the internet. We put our personal information online for everyone on social networks like facebook and myspace. So, it will be up to the individual on how much privacy they are willing to give up in order to get the most modern technology, but with everyone wanting the latest stuff, its hard to resist.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

