Home > Uncategorized > Post-Hardcore

Post-Hardcore

I saw the Post-Hardcore presentation and I really felt a connection to his taste in music. I can’t say I listen to anything even closely pertaining to the genre, but as an avid listener of death metal/grindcore/black metal, I feel a similar connection with any fellow metal-head. Unless, of course, they succumb to the commonly mistaken stereotype and propagate satanism or whatever.

The genres I listen to are nothing at all like post-hardcore (I actually don’t even like post-hardcore all that much). But I liked the way he analyzed the connection he has with the few people that enjoy something he’s so passionate about. After watching his presentation, I realized I can bring two situations into context. One, I’m a huge Arsenal Football Club fan and, whenever I see a fellow Gooner, I know that he or she is in pain (Arsenal are doing terribly at the moment!) Two, I like to bond with fellow Russian-speakers. I came to DC under the notion that there would be a healthy amount of Russians/Russian-speakers. Unfortunately, I haven’t found many at all.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 16, 2011 at 6:08 pm

    Woah, when was this? I checked the list but I didn’t see it. I went to the Queer Invisibility one instead lol

    What’s post-Hardcore anyway? Is it like The Exploited?

  2. October 16, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    I went to: Play Money, The Economics of Online Gaming. The speaker wrote an excellent paper about the virtual market that exists within MMORPGs and, (as a “long time ago” player) it was very interesting. He not only analyzed his paper, about contrived scarcity and the “virtual personal wealth” concept, but he also gave the audience writing tips. Some of them where: “when you are writing, add something to your research…make it personal, you should write about someting you enjoy,” and “find the big players of your research; there is always someone who knows more than you about the topic and is mentioned in several sources..get to learn about them and research their works.”
    I hope this tips help someone else than just me.

  3. October 17, 2011 at 1:00 am

    Haysoose, it was at 10:00 am on Wednesday on the third floor of Gelman. The room also held the Harry Potter presentation.

    Aletorio, the post-hardcore guy gave similar tips. He said to always write about something that matters to you and to avoid practical limitations. I’ll be completely honest, I was more interested in the processes of his writing and the tips he had to offer than in the actual content of his presentation. Don’t get me wrong, his material was great, but his preliminary information was what drew my attention the most.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

