Home > Uncategorized > More Than Just a Tea

More Than Just a Tea

I have been interested in all of the posts on our blog regarding issues that are relevant to our lives as new college students. This is not to say that all of the posts are not interesting (which they are), I just enjoy the ones which I can relate to, especially the whole group discussion about sleep, coffee and tea! I therefore decided to do some research of my own on green tea, which I view as a cure-all. I discovered the magic of green tea two years ago when I heard somewhere that it is loaded with antioxidants, can reduce the risk of cancer and also raise your metabolism- while also providing you with a healthy energy boost from caffeine. I started drinking two cups a day, not really knowing that much about it, but it became my go-to source for extra energy, stress relief and just a delicious drink!

Even though I’ve been drinking green tea almost every day, I never actually looked up why it is so good for you. Today I found this article. It turns out that green tea is rich with catechin polyphenols. Polyphenols are also found in red wine, which has some of the same effects as green tea. One of the polyphenols found in green tea is epigallocatechin gallate which is an antioxidant with super powers which include: killing cancer cells, lowering cholesterol levels and preventing blood clots. Pretty impressive, right? Green tea has also been proven to help people burn more calories and prevent tooth decay. It also can have healthy effects on the skin- it’s even integrated into some Proactiv products!

The one problem that I discovered in my research was that in order to reap in all of the benefits of green tea, you must drink massive amounts every day. This article claims that the people who stayed cancer free for longer amounts of time drank ten cups a day. I was disappointed to realize that my one-to-two cup a day routine would not guarantee that I will be cancer free in my life. I will still continue to drink my green tea, and maybe someday when portable kettles are invented I will be able to work my way up to ten cups a day!

Do you have any special foods or drinks that make you feel good?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ms
    October 16, 2011 at 3:06 am

    As someone who cannot start her day without a cup of tea (I’m sure many in my 9:35 section have noticed the mug I bring every day), I found this post to be really interesting. Though I’m not a fan of green tea because of it’s bitter taste, black tea is a definite favorite, earl grey in particular. I find it to be the perfect balance of sweetness and caffeine to start my day. As I take my first sip, both my body and mind seem to wake up and it’s as if the tea surges through my veins and revitalizes me for the craziness that is each day. A hot cup of earl grey works wonders else too, as an afternoon snack with cookies or even last night if I need to stay up to study. What I love most about tea, though, is that it is not nearly as unhealthy as soda or red bull, for example. Relying on tea to keep me going throughout the day reassures me that I’m not constantly introducing toxins and artificial colors and flavors that could potentially be harming my body.

  2. ms
    October 16, 2011 at 3:08 am

    Also!! I happened to pursue the yahoo news page and find this interesting article on unconventional uses for tea: http://shine.yahoo.com/event/green/15-new-uses-for-tea-2580093/
    It’s definitely worth a look!

  3. October 16, 2011 at 5:05 am

    I’m not a big green tea person: whenever my mom serves green tea over black or coffee, I’m not too happy. But I’ll be honest, when I went to China and saw the mountainside tea leaf fields outside Shanghai, I was pretty impressed. Its all so quaint, simple, and really, really organized. And there was a lot of tea. I mean, A LOT. Obviously its a huge part of Chinese culture for so much space and time to be dedicated to it.

    I think I know the Proactiv product you’re talking about… It’s the green tea moisturizer, isn’t it?

  4. October 16, 2011 at 5:51 am

    If I could copy the first comment exactly, I would. I drink one to two cups of black tea every day and can’t imagine my day without it! I’m not a huge fan of green tea, but one of my friends at home always used to praise its health benefits. I actually doubted her for a long time and would fight with her that it was just the same as any other sort of tea. This article proves me wrong! I don’t think it will change my tea drinking habits, however, I may give it another shot.

  5. October 16, 2011 at 6:00 am

    I really enjoy tea myself, but I’m more of a black tea drinker, specifically Darjeeling. My dad is the one who got me into tea, and I would definitely consider it an acquired taste. Now maybe I should switch over to green tea for better health…

    Oh, and for those of you who enjoy tea and have a Reddit.com account, I’d recommend signing up for the Coffee Mugs and Tea Cups gift exchange at:
    http://redditgifts.com/exchanges/coffee-mugs-and-tea-cups/
    Send someone some tea/coffee, and get some tea/coffee yourself.

  6. October 16, 2011 at 6:49 pm

    I’m also a big tea drinker, even if I don’t look like one. I drink all kinds of tea, with my two favorites being Genmaicha (Japanese Brown Rice Tea) and Ginseng Tea. Green Tea follows, and my least favorite is Chrysanthemum Tea.

    Though my favorite teas are not very strong, my philosophy when it comes to tea is the same as my philosophy when it comes to coffee and beer. The stronger and darker, the better.

    Regarding food, my four favorite foods are the following: Fried Chicken Thighs, Bacon Cheese Burgers, Blue Rare Steaks, and Salmon/ White Tuna Sashimi.

    As you can see, I’m a carnivore (that’s how I dodged the E. Coli scares). And sure, the friend chicken and the bacon cheese burgers have a phenomenally high fat content, I eat all the time, but I stay skinny.

    When I eat, I eat for the pleasure, not for the health benefits… Damn, I am a hedonist…

  7. October 17, 2011 at 5:02 am

    I’m glad that this post could open your eyes to the wonders of green tea! I actually haven’t tried very much green tea, though I believe that I’ve heard it has more caffeine than green tea. Maybe I as well will try that too! And I completely know that surge of life and energy that you feel ms- it’s great! Go tea!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

