Home > Uncategorized > Science and Disney

Science and Disney

What could be better than watching our favorite Disney movie while learning a little about science?

Most of us could assume many shows and movies, especially for the younger generation, incorporate a little bit of learning in them but who knew even the magical world of Disney had irregular sleep disorders in them before everything about sleep was even discovered.  An article I came across on one of the recommended blogging site, Neurotic Physiology, called The Narcoleptic dog in your Disney film talks about how different Disney movies such as Snow White, Lady and the Tramp and Cinderella portray sleeping patterns, keeping in mind REM sleep wasn’t even discovered until 3 years after Cinderella was released!

This blog post originally caught my attention because it had to a lot of recent posts on our blog about sleep disorders and deficiencies. Moreover, what hooked me in was really how this blog was written and presented. Honestly, the blog in itself was quite interesting but the graphics and videos really make you wanna read on. Maybe its just me because I am a Disney fanatic but  I found this to be a very entertaining example blog post we could learn from!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 13, 2011 at 2:56 am

    As a fellow Disney obsessor, I enjoyed this post a lot! I agree that the post was not only about an interesting topic but it was also delivered in such a dynamic way! It was very interesting to read- while the post could have been very short and simple but with all of the videos, graphics and hyperlinks to other articles the blog post was interesting and exciting to read! I am inspired to write some blogs of my own that are more like this! Thank you!

  2. October 14, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    This a great post. Not just because its about disney movies but because it gave me a great idea about spicing up our blog posts. In my next blogs I am going to link it to a video that is interesting and related to my topic. Additionally, I am interested in imploring others to do the same. That way we are exploring the media as well as the opinion of each other.

  3. October 16, 2011 at 6:26 am

    I’ve always been interested in the things hiding in Disney films. I remember watching a video showing the racism that’s prevalent in many Disney films. There are also the articles that discuss adult themes within different Disney films. However, in many cases those examples only become relevant when scrutinized heavily. Meaning, the movies are only racist if you make it that way. It was refreshing to see an article about Disney that wasn’t some sort of conspiracy or attack against them. Thanks for the link!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

