Home > Uncategorized > Coffee Coffee Coffee

Coffee Coffee Coffee

After reading the class blog recently, I have noticed a common theme of sleep or lack thereof. This seems like a timely topic seeing as midterms are right around the corner and students are losing sleep due to late night studying. I have been guilty of this myself, as I tend to procrastinate my work to the very last minute. However, I always make sure that the work I do is up to my standards thus leaving myself with a sleep deficiency.

How do I survive with such little sleep? COFFEE. And lots of it. With each sip I drink, I feel that I am being revived and brought back to life. But I can’t help but wonder: what is this coffee really doing to me? Something that makes me feel so alive in the late hours of the night when I should be sleeping can’t be good for me. According to this article, it’s not. I had always been suspicious of caffeine, but this article confirmed my doubts. Caffeine basically causes your body to go into over-drive and work extra hard to energize you. This all makes sense, but then after reading this article, I realized that one of the worst effects that caffeine has on your body is that it declines your quality of sleep. I had never thought about the fact that just because I’m sleeping after having 3 cups of coffee, it doesn’t mean that I’m receiving the proper kind of sleep that I need.

I also did some reading on energy drinks, and I found that those are even worse sources of caffeine for your body as they are also loaded with sugar and other unhealthy ingredients. I’m sure that most of you had already heard this, but after reading that article I actually learned why energy drinks are so bad for you.

After all of this reading, I have reached some conclusions. Although it is not possible for me to completely quit drinking coffee (in fact it is even bad for you to quit cold turkey), I will try to reduce the amount that I drink, and to drink it earlier in the day so I can receive the proper amount and quality of sleep that I need so I don’t need even more the next day! And also, I will vow to avoid energy drinks at all costs unless entirely necessary. How do you feel about caffeine dependence?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 9, 2011 at 10:51 pm

    I too am an avid coffee drinker and have always been willing to support my habit to the death, which according to most people is going to come quicker for myself and other coffee drinkers. But new studies suggest that this is far from the truth, these studies instead point out a large number of benefits many people receive from drinking coffee. In an article I came across from the Mayo Clinic, the author stated that in his opinion, the health benefits outweigh the negatives. Now the author is sure to point out that these studies do have their exceptions, for example if you suffer from a specific genetic condition, you are more prone to suffer from heath disease if you are a heavy coffee drinker. He also includes that moderation is key; naturally if you drink seven cups of coffee in a day, you are going to have an issue with caffeine addiction. So just to sum up my point, yes coffee can be troublesome, but not nearly to the extent of what we are often lead to believe.

    (P.S. I wasn’t sure how to hyperlink a comment so here is the article: http://www.mayoclinic.com/health/coffee-and-health/AN01354 )

  2. October 10, 2011 at 12:26 am

    I’m also a pretty big “coffeeaholic”. I’ve heard that coffee has both negative and positive effects however I believe that most of what we do when we drink coffee is in our head. I mean if we say that coffee isn’t going to effect us, it might not. If we rely on coffee to keep us up we might be more likely to stay up. I know that’s the case with me. Its about mind over matter.

  3. October 10, 2011 at 2:51 am

    I am also affected by the endless need to study late at night, but since I don’t drink coffee, I resort to taking mini power naps during the day. When I don’t have class I set my alarm and sleep for 15-30 minutes when I have free time. This is more then enough time for me to re-energize and have enough strength to make it through all the work I have. This really seems to work and helps avoid a dependence on caffeine and coffee that can be unhealthy. I really recommend trying mini power naps instead of having coffee if you have free time.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

