Home > Uncategorized > More Ways Our Sleeping Schedules Are Going to Kill Us

More Ways Our Sleeping Schedules Are Going to Kill Us

Bad news for college students: scientists have discovered a link between “broken biological clocks” and heart disease.  And yes, freshman, that includes interrupted circadian rhythms.  So does this new finding mean we all need to buckle down and get our full 6-8 hours every night?  I don’t know about the rest of you, but on average I get about five hours of sleep every night and that is just not a change that I am prepared or qualified to make.  Well according to this study, “a wealth of evidence shows that skimping on sleep and working against the body’s natural daily, or circadian, rhythms can raise the risk of developing illnesses such as heart disease and diabetes.”  In other words, we all need to stay far away from Atkins and integrate Cheerios into our daily routine.  While this is disheartening for most of us to hear, it allows current heart disease patients to receive better treatment.  When doctors can pinpoint the root of the malady, they can directly address the brain or the heart and more effectively treat their patients.  So at least when we all have clogged arteries years from now, our doctors will know to go to the brain and check out our biological clock.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. ms
    October 9, 2011 at 8:45 pm

    For some reason, since getting to school, it takes me over 2 hours to fall asleep almost every night. If I were to add up all those hours of lost sleep a week, it would run upwards of a dozen hours. Though I have what is sometimes considered the market’s most comfortable memory foam mattress topper as well as blackout blinds that essentially make my room a dungeon, I can’t seem to rest my mind enough to enter REM for more than an hour. I searched on pandora and found a ‘Music to Fall Asleep to Channel’ that I listen to in headphones to wind down, but even then I take around an hour to fall asleep. After reading this post, I think it sheds a little light on my insomnia. With all the distractions and unhealthy choice that surround college, how can I expect my body to figure itself out immediately? Another post on this blog explains and has a link to some prominent health risks faced by college students. Browsing through the list, I can’t help but wonder, will I make it out alive?

  2. October 9, 2011 at 9:16 pm

    Wow, this article is very worrisome and also relevant for probably all college students, especially during mid terms. It’s funny that you posted this article because last week I had my first (and hopefully last for a long long time) late night study-cram session until 4am. I couldn’t help but wonder what kind of damage I was doing to my body by depriving it from so much sleep. Of course, the next day I slept more than I do on my average days, causing even more damage to my body with all of the inconsistency in sleeping patterns. I definitely think that sleep is an issue that should be taken more seriously among students, as this article and blog prove that the effects of irregular sleep could be detrimental to our health.

  1. October 9, 2011 at 10:00 pm

Leave a Reply

