Science can sometimes feel so colorless. It can sometimes feel so black and white. Especially at those times where you’re sitting in a science lecture, trying to listen to your professor explain cellular respiration or stoicheometry.  Just hearing science, or just reading it makes science so untangable.  Yeah, those are the moments that make science hard to like right away. I would descibe my self as a very visual person. I like art, I like photography , I like color, and I love science. I go through various blogs especially on tumblr that portray science in kinda an artsy way. I believe that science can be an art, and pictures do however speak way louder than word.  Fresh Photons  is one of my favorite blogs that  displays a many interesting posts about science and art as a whole. From photons of light, to the electromagnetic spectrum, to flowers and then the bees, and their hives , then to the forest and the ecosystems and us humans and then finally outer space and galexies beyond. Sometimes I think that we should all just pause for a second and take a long look at the world around us, within us. It’s beautiful in its own way. We as humans spends so much of our time hustling and bustling trying to know  the world , read the articles and become knowledgeable of what is around us, but at times seeing things in a scientifically abstract way does not hurt. Thats where art comes into play. I think there needs to be more scientific galleries available, because science is not just black and white concrete, it is infact colorful. Would you agree?

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 5, 2011 at 6:53 pm

    I agree completely with the idea of looking at the world around us more often to find scientific beauty. I often am bored with science lectures and textbooks, but find myself fascinated with science when I see a beautiful photograph of a natural wonder or something in nature that is purely and simply inspiring. I wouldn’t say that there need be more scientific galleries necessarily, but perhaps more land set aside for hikes and nature walks where the earth’s natural wildlife is preserved.

  2. October 7, 2011 at 5:21 pm

    There is a lot of feeling behind this post and it is very refreshing. I’ve always seen science a rigid and disciplined subject. I forget that it has beauty in it as well. My favorite part about getting a science textbook is looking at the pictures of natural wonders I’ll probably never be able to see in person. I’m a very religious person and many people think that science and religion have no place together but when I see the beauty of science in the world I know there is God. I agree with you and think there do need to be more scientific galleries for people to explore the wonders of science they can’t see in school.

  3. October 8, 2011 at 11:41 pm

    I totally agree. Oftentimes, it seems like society makes science into a very structured, methodological practice. But in actuality, science is all around us. It exists in every step we take. (Physics.) It exists in every tree, bush, and animal. (Biology.) It exists when a reaction occurs when we pour orange juice into seltzer. (Chemistry.) Science is extremely colorful because life is colorful. This post really helps to show the dynamic nature of science. As a kid, I remember disliking science because I was unable to find a connection between what we learned in a classroom and what actually applied, and was relevant, to our lives. In actuality though, the connections are more plentiful and more obvious than we think.

    Love the picture, by the way! Take a look at this one…its a picture of a dividing HeLa cell.

    http://www.sciencephoto.com/media/313117/enlarge

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

