Home > Uncategorized > Tying shoes…the right way.

Tying shoes…the right way.

Ever since my 10th grade english teacher started showing us videos from the TED conferences, I would find myself frequenting the TED website, procrastinating yet learning about fascinating topics at the same time. What else could be better? You can imagine my excitement when I heard that the TED conference was coming to GW. Sadly, I could’t get a ticket. Did anyone go to the conference?

To alleviate frustration I spent a good 2 hours on the TED website and found a video I’d like to share with the blog. For those of you who are unsure of the TED talks, they are a series of talks by fascinating people of interest every day. Their motto is “TED, ideas worth spreading”. Terry Moore, explains how he one day complained to a worker at his local shoe store how he loved the shoes but hated the laces. The clerk responded with “you’re tying your shoes wrong” As he then goes to explain how a simple reverse of how we wrap the lace around the so called “rabbit hole” the knot becomes stronger.

I found this interesting not because I now can tie my shoes better, but because such a simple skill I would have thought I mastered can one day be proven absolutely wrong. What else have I been doing “wrong” all my life?

You can find the video here:  http://www.ted.com/talks/lang/eng/terry_moore_how_to_tie_your_shoes.html

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. October 3, 2011 at 6:24 pm

    I recently read an article on the oh-so-scholarly Cracked.com that left me feeling the same way. It was entitled The Most Efficient Way to Do… Everything ( http://www.cracked.com/blog/the-most-efficient-way-to-do-…-everything/ ) which also detailed, among other things, how to tie one’s shoes most effectively. I have to be honest, I couldn’t master that one, nor the polyphasic sleeping, the most extreme version of which consists of five naps of roughly 10 minutes interspersed equally across 24 hours. The one that truly struck me however, was the most efficient way of dissolving powder into liquid. According to this article, the fastest way to prepare and enjoy your Kool-Aid doesn’t involve the circular stirring motion with which we are all familiar. Instead, straight up and down slatting motions intersperse solid matter into liquids much more quickly and thoroughly than their traditional counterparts. And the crazy thing is, they’re already doing this in Japan. In fact, if you look at Japanese methods of everyday tasks, like peeling a potato or folding a shirt, they’re all not only considerably faster– once you get the hang of it, at least– but the end result tends to be of high quality too. Which makes me wonder: why have we settled on the way of doing things that we have? Especially considering the antebellum efficiency obsession and the rise of Taylorism, when did Americans become stuck peeling their potatoes slowly and folding their shirts sloppily? It seems wild to me that there’s a better way to do something we waste so much time on and simply don’t acknowledge the superior method. That being said, that whole shirt folding thing looks really quite confusing. However, I now do stir sugar into my coffee the “Japanese way” so maybe there’s hope yet.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

