Home > Uncategorized > Why this class? What did you want out of it?

Why this class? What did you want out of it?

I have hated every science teacher I have ever had. Well, except one. Mr. Gregg, that’s right with two “G”s. Mr. Gregg was the only teacher who every asked his students to do more than memorize and repeat scientific law and theories. He didn’t ask “Why is this important”, which happens to be the worst question on the face of the earth. It’s up there with “Why do you want to be a part of…?,” ” Why should we choose you?,” and “What could you give to our organization?”.  As a teacher, Mr. Gregg thought that it was a part of his job to make the topic important to his students. He worked to engage the mind of his students, not to simply throw information at us. For example, one day Mr. Gregg had everyone pull out their phones, myself included, and he challenged us to see who could solve a chemical equation and text it to him. The person who got it right and the fastest received an extra two points on the following quiz. Then he proceeded to spend the rest of the class discussing how biochemistry played into the development of cell phones. That was more than three years ago, and while I couldn’t explain to you what biochemistry has to do with the development of cell phones I can tell you how to solve a chemical equation, the number of ions in the chemicals on more than half the periodic table and the color of my biochemistry textbook.

After describing the only teacher who ever engaged my mind in the topic of science you can imagine that it’s not my favorite topic. In fact, it even irritates me that my boyfriend is a chemical engineer major just because it means he takes science classes.  He likes to call me and go on and on about what he did in chemistry today. I think he does it on purpose. Despite it all, everything I have ever thought about doing with my life involves science. I have thought of majoring in Speech and Hearing Sciences, Psychology, Forensic Science, and Social Work. All of which require that you take at least biology and chemistry. So I have made a point to work toward involving myself with science. My first step was taking University Writing: Science, Media, and Culture.

That’s the first part of my paper. It really made me think of why I chose this class and what my expectations are. What are your expectations? Did you join for the same reason? Why did you join this class? Is your story as long as mine? Did this paper make you think of why you joined this class? Is it doing what you wanted it to? Share your reasons.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 24, 2011 at 5:58 pm

    Truth is, I joined because it’s the only topic that was available, with the exception of the Shakespeare UW course. But since now that I’m already in this class, I decided that I’m going to take as much out of this class as possible. One obvious benefit is that my ability to write will be greatly enhanced. Another is that I can begin to understand how everyday objects, pop culture, and media can relate to science and it’s nature.

    This paper did not really make me think of why I joined this class, but it did help me make an important connection between music and science. So far, it has been a pleasure for me to write.

  2. Laura Orella
    September 24, 2011 at 10:39 pm

    I thought it would be an interesting subject, and I guess what was more pressing at the time was that it was available and in a time slot that worked for me. Also, I agree with Haysoose, I was not taking a semester of Shakespeare. I don’t despise science like everyone else seems to. I actually like parts of it. While chemistry may not be my strongest area I actually enjoyed AP Biology last year and the culture and media aspects interested me as well. So I thought I could this class could be something interesting for me.
    I guess for me this paper brought up a lot of memories of hospitals and doctor visits and how science and medicine relate for me. I have always thought of medicine as science and figured that I would do something in the health care field when I grow up.

  3. September 26, 2011 at 1:54 am

    I joined this class because i’m an engineering major and taking a majority of science classes. This class also involves in part the media; and as i’m also taking a sociology class in mass media i thought it would be cool to overlap my class topics; as it helps me deeper understand what I’m learning. My expectations were that this class would have a little bit more science involved, but I’m pretty happy with what the subject matter turned out to be. This paper didn’t really make me think about my reasons for taking this class, but this post made me see the essay could involve why I took this class.

  4. September 26, 2011 at 3:44 am

    I actually joined this class because it seemed like a good fit for me, not just my schedule! I’m an undecided major with varying interests including biology and journalism so I thought that this class would be a great way to combine my different interests! Unfortunately, I realized very quickly that I really don’t want to be a biology major- I went to two or three classes of the biology class for bio majors and realized that I cannot spend the rest of my life in a lab. I ended up dropping that class and adding a media class which I happen to love. That class also kind of fits into the theme of this UW though. I’m even more glad that I decided to take this class now because I really do like science, so I get to have my science ‘fix’ while not killing myself in an overwhelming science class.
    This paper definitely did make me think about the class as a whole and its purpose. It has been very interesting so far and I’m excited to see what else we learn about and do in the class as the year progresses.

  5. September 29, 2011 at 3:23 am

    Initially I took this class because it fit in my schedule and it sounded more interesting than Shakespeare but now that I know more about the class I think it might be really interesting. I’m a Biology major and this UW really fits my major since science is a lot of it does have to do with science. I think this class really does a good job connecting different topics such as media and science and I think it could really help me in the future.

  6. October 2, 2011 at 5:51 pm

    I’ve come to a realization. I know that like everyone else, i took this class because it fit into my schedule nicely, but now that I think about it I think this class has a lot in common with things I would want to do with my life. I’m a biomedical engineering major, and yes that has to do with a lot of time in the science lecture halls as well as the labs, but I really am considering to become journalism minor. Honestly, I never had any expectation or reasons of anything when i first decided to take this class. It has the words ” science” and “media” in it so I initially thought ” hey thats cool”. But the more and more I think about it, this class kinda is the subject of my interests. I like science and I like to write. So thats really it . Hopefully I become this crazy engineer/scientist/journalist/author/photographer/inventor/painter/baker when I graduate. Looking forward to that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

