Home > Uncategorized > I’d like to do another survey. This is for my essay:

I’d like to do another survey. This is for my essay:

1) What kind of music do you listen to?

2) What kind of relationship do you have with music? What does it say to you? How does it make you feel?

3) Do you listen to music to get away from reality? Get closer to yourself? Get closer to a certain time or place?

4) Do you prefer electronic sounds (synthesizers), electrically amplified acoustic sounds (electric guitars) or acoustic sounds (pianos, acoustic guitars, violins, etc)?

Thanks for your answers. i will consider them for my essay.

Categories: Uncategorized Tags: , ,
  1. September 24, 2011 at 11:08 pm

    1. I listen to a lot of different kinds of music, but I mostly listen to classic rock or folk music. My favorite bands are The Beatles, Carbon Leaf (Virginia folk band) and Pink Floyd.

    2. Music means so much to me. When I listen to music, it’s usually not about what it makes me feel, but rather how I feel when I start listening. Basically, I listen to different kinds of music depending on my mood. When I’m sad I listen to sad music such as Leonard Cohen, when I’m in a good mood I listen to The Beatles’ earlier stuff, when I’m thoughtful I listen to a lot of Pink Floyd. I do this to reinforce the way I feel and no matter what it makes me feel better. Music has also been a big part of my life because I’ve been playing the violin for 14 years and the acoustic guitar for a couple months. Playing a song I love like a Beatles song is a great joy for me and it brings me much closer to the music I’ve been listening to my entire life.

    3. For me, it really depends on the type of music. Other than to reinforce the way I’m feeling, I listen to music to escape in certain ways. A lot of my taste in music comes from my dad, and when I listen to artists such as Pink Floyd, Leonard Cohen, and Bob Dylan I think back to a simpler time when I would visit my dad (my parents are divorced) and it makes me feel a lot of different ways. I’d feel happy thinking about those times, but sad that they’re gone.

    4. Personally, it depends on my mood. When I want to pump myself up for something I’ll listen to house music or rap, but in general I prefer acoustic/electric guitar as well as other acoustic instruments.

  2. September 25, 2011 at 3:05 pm

    Leonard Cohen. I know some of his songs, but I’ve yet to be able to fully appreciate his music.

    • September 25, 2011 at 10:24 pm

      I was fortunate enough to see him in concert with my dad. I had listened to some of his stuff beforehand, but I didn’t truly appreciate it until I heard him live. Ever since I’ve liked everything I’ve heard from him. Some of my favorites are Suzanne, Bird on the Wire and Chelsea Hotel #2.

  3. ms
    September 26, 2011 at 1:09 am

    1. I thoroughly love and appreciate listening to all types of music. I recently have even gotten into country because of my best friends back home who listen to nothing but it!

    2. I’d like to think I have an awesome relationship with music…haha. I love the way music makes me feel: happy, pensive, thoughtful, emotional…etc.

    3.I love listening to music when I’m down or even just need to relax. It just provides me an outlet to get away from all the craziness that surrounds me. I really like how listening to a certain song reminds me of certain times in my life. Specific songs jog my memory and I love reminiscing about those moments.

    4. I definitely prefer acoustic sounds. I think that’s because most of the music I listen to tends to be acoustic.

  4. September 26, 2011 at 1:40 am

    1. I mainly listen to country music, sometimes rock.
    2. I have a strong relationship to music, i really rely on it to get me through hard times. I listened to really upbeat music during when my house burned down to keep me going, and when my brother passed away i listened to a lot of sad songs that relate to sorrow. It really helps me when I’m down. I generally match music to my moods to help me feel better.
    3. Its funny because now when i listen to some songs and genres, it brings me back to those times and brings back all the memories. So I use it to get closer to myself and bring back really old memories that I otherwise push away.
    4. I really prefer acoustic sounds, because they are softer and more comforting. Electric sounds too harsh.

  5. September 26, 2011 at 2:32 am

    1) Anything good, but mainly rap and alternative stuff.
    2) Music depicts how i feel sometimes and helps me get through things, or it can also just get me pumped up. I play piano and guitar so it’s not just part of my life, it is my life. It helps me relax.
    3) Get away from reality? Sometimes, but mostly just to relax. And depending on the genre that can bring me to a different time or place, or even a memory of when i first heard the song, or something memorable that happened with the song in the background.
    4) Electric if I wanna get pumped, but for leisure or day to day listening its usually acoustic.

  6. September 26, 2011 at 5:19 am

    1) I like listening to a lot of different kinds of music but mostly, pop, hip hop, house and rap.
    2) Music makes me feel alive. When you get into music you can go into a whole different world. I don’t listen to music a lot but when I do I thoroughly enjoy it.
    3) Yes music is kind of an escape from reality. Its a place where you can make up your own rules and do whatever you like.
    4) I prefer electronic sounds.

  7. September 27, 2011 at 11:56 pm

    Haysoose… there’s a crack in everything– that’s how the light gets in!

    (that’s a quote from my very favorite Leonard Cohen song).

    • September 28, 2011 at 12:28 am

      Anthem! I love that song! Ring the bells that still can ring. Forget your perfect offering.

  8. October 2, 2011 at 7:32 pm

    1) What kind of music do you listen to?

    I listen to Iron and Wine, the Weepies, Radiohead, Girltalk, the band, the beatles, bee gees, earth wind and fire, lady gaga, m. ward and others. I’m not quite sure how I would classify my taste in music.

    2) What kind of relationship do you have with music? What does it say to you? How does it make you feel?

    Music controls a lot of my emotions. When I was a really little kid I used to go to rhythm classes and play the drums at the local music school. I later began dancing ballet and playing the piano, flute and guitar. There are two main aspects of music; to me there are the lyrics if there are lyrics, and the melody. I love to listen to classical music and music without lyrics when I sleep because it calms me.

    3) Do you listen to music to get away from reality? Get closer to yourself? Get closer to a certain time or place?

    Specific songs can bring back such strong emotions and memories, even smells. A song can transport you to another time. There are always songs that you feel are like your life and when you listen to them later on, you remember that time in your life vividly. There are some people who have no or little connection to music and I think they are missing out.

    4) Do you prefer electronic sounds (synthesizers), electrically amplified acoustic sounds (electric guitars) or acoustic sounds (pianos, acoustic guitars, violins, etc)?

    It depends what mood I am in.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

