Home > Uncategorized > Laughing is Good For You!

Laughing is Good For You!

Yeah…it’s true.

I thought that, as college freshman still learning the hang of things here in D.C., this is a good reminder that we should make sure we find time in our busy schedules to laugh and smile, not just because it is good for our mental health, but also because this new study shows that it is also good for our physical health as well.

In this article from the blog, Scientific American, the author explains that when humans laugh, the brain releases “feel-good chemicals” known as endorphins. These chemicals are also released during exercise, and have a positive effect on the body. Specifically, this article explains newfound research that laughing–and the subsequent release of endorphins–decreases our pain threshold. Essentially, laughing helps to eliminate physical pain.

Endorphins, these natural chemicals that the human body releases, are an interesting phenomenon that it seems like few scientists have actually spent significant time researching. It is good to know that, not only are they powerful and contribute positively to our health, but we have the ability to control when we release them.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 24, 2011 at 6:02 pm

    I wouldn’t say that laughing isn’t entirely good. I love to laugh, and I do it all the time. Back in middle school, I was known for my laugh. It was loud, and contagious. But there were times when I laughed till my abdomen muscles begin to cramp and I’d be in a lot of pain, but I’d still laugh anyway. So in my case, laughing increased my pain lol

    I didn’t work out then, but I did build a six pack, probably from laughing so hard. It’s gone though because I think I got desensitized to many things.

  2. September 25, 2011 at 8:37 pm

    This is a very cool topic to read about. Do you think it would be fine to write about laughing as a natural science and its benefits to the human being? By the way, I also laugh a lot, love laughing.

  3. September 26, 2011 at 2:36 am

    If laughter is good for you, consider Haysoose a doctor!

  4. September 26, 2011 at 1:53 pm

    Did you know that laughing isn’t the only way to release endorphins? Another way which I partake in all the time is eating chocolate! A few other stimulants of endorphins have been found like Chili pepperes, wine, and excersize. If you want to read more about chocolate and endorphines heres a link to a CNN article. http://www.cnn.com/HEALTH/indepth.food/sweets/chocolate.cravings/index.html

  5. September 29, 2011 at 2:18 pm

    I heard this some where before, about how endorphins are considered to be our “happy chemical”. This is actually a cool topic to post about. It shows how not everything in science has to be super serious or complicated. It can be as simple as the trigger that puts us in a good mood. Im not a scientific person whatsoever so this sort of simplifies the whole science issue for me in a way. I laugh and smile pretty much all the time so its nice to actual put some science behind it. Lol. Not only does laughing release the “happy chemical” but I heard that primping also releases it in females. No wonder why I’m so happy after fixing my hair or touching up my lip gloss 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

