Home > Uncategorized > An associative, segmented personal essay…wait, what?

An associative, segmented personal essay…wait, what?

Hey everyone! I decided to write my first blog post on our up and coming first essay. Personally, I felt overwhelmed with how to even begin this essay but once I sat down and looked at what we already talked and wrote about in class, I was a little relieved. After reading and re-reading the prompt several times and skimming the examples and resources the professor recommended, I still do not have a solid idea on what to write about and even how to connect any of my ideas together implicitly.

A possible topic I have to start with is to talk being grown up with such a strong science background and relating that to how that has an effect on me as a person or how that has changed my view on science in the present. It’s just a tentative topic though.

Does anyone have the slightest clue what to write about? Also feel free to ask and questions or ask for any clarifications!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. September 18, 2011 at 8:19 pm

    I don’t really know but I guess I’ll write about what I know best, electric guitars and how the technology in the guitar works, and how electric guitars are seen by others in a school dominated by people who listen to electronic music. You would be surprised with the things you hear.

    I know this one girl from high school who said “Electric guitars have no talent. They’re not even playing a real instrument.” Another asked “don’t electric guitars make sounds on their own?”

    The electric guitar is one of the most iconic pieces of American pop culture but few realize the science that is involved in the way they work. Some think electric guitars are made of plastic and that they all sound the same. That can’t be further from the truth. Electric guitars are usually made of wood, and the characteristics of the wood influence the tone and sustain of the instrument. This way, no two guitars sound exactly the same.

    • September 19, 2011 at 12:34 am

      Haysoose, I think that this is probably the most interesting topic for such a thematic essay in a long time. I do really need some help identifying and clarifying how exactly electric guitars work and I would really like to read your essay. For my essay, I wanted to have similar chain of ideas..related to the same topic, but I am a little confused about how I will actually be able to write them down. Do you think that approaching it from a more technical point of view and instead of electric guitars with religious tokens and their impact on science?

      Thanks for this post, I hope this will help us all processing our essays

  2. Danika
    September 18, 2011 at 9:02 pm

    What a great starting place for your essay, Haysoose!

  3. September 18, 2011 at 10:57 pm

    I just finished hammering out the first three paragraphs of my essay, and it certainly is more personal and emotional than I had originally planned. The piece is inspired by the death of one of my earliest patients during the time I spent working in the hospital. She suffered from a considerably rare form of Leukemia, and endured months of treatment before finally passing away on Christmas morning. Considering that we had become close friends, her death initially proved incredibly upsetting, and I rationalized that we, as medical professionals, had failed her. However, a doctor later informed me that our work had allowed her to survive longer than 90% of other patients with the same condition. Accordingly, I am writing about the moment during which I first realized that science results in no definitive failures. Not every experiment, study, or operation is able to save the world. Those that result in even the slightest amount of good can and should be considered achievements in themselves.

    Priyanka, I would suggest that you similarly base your essay upon something personally meaningful to you. After all, just about any unique experience can be molded to fit this topic, and there is certainly no reason not to include some sort of emotional charge in your writing. Have you ever stood witness to something heroic that gave you refreshed confidence in scientific possibility? Have you ever encountered such a problem that you wondered if a scientific solution even exists? At the end of the day, the ‘nature of science’ doesn’t have to encompass every expert’s dry opinion on the matter, but instead should reflect how you have grown to regard science. Be creative! Come up with something that only you could write. Good luck, and I hope this helps!

    • Danika
      September 20, 2011 at 1:38 pm

      I’m looking forward to reading about this experience, and I second your advice to start with the personal. The writing you do will be more meaningful if you begin from a moment or experience that is of utmost importance to you, especially if you start with a moment or image that is important but feels impossible to articulate. Having to figure out what you are getting at will automatically mean your writing will discover and explore, rather than explaining and preaching.

  4. September 19, 2011 at 12:09 am

    I have not idea what I would like to write about. My very first blog post was about my confusion in understanding the “nature of science”. I still have no idea what it is. So as a result I am basing my paper on my exploration of what science could be. I think I will start with how much I hate science and how everything I love means I must come in contact with science on the daily basis. The best idea has been to make this essay personal. I am attempted to do that through discussing my hate for the subject as a whole. Your best bet make it important to you any way you know how. Start by considering:

    1. What do you like to do? What do you watch on tv?
    2. How does science play into your daily life?
    3. On the other blogs we have been reading did you find anything that interests you? What was it?
    4. Why did you choose this class? Was it the science?

    That is really all that I can suggest. Remember that this paper isn’t over until the final revision date in december. Feel free to take chances on this first draft and see where it can get you.

  5. September 19, 2011 at 3:56 am

    Like I said in class, I plan to write about my experiences with science in my life. I think I will focus these ideas on how I decided to become an engineer. I can remember when I was five or six loving dinosaurs, because well, everyone loved dinosaurs. I then logically made my mind up that I would be a paleontologist. After that I made my parents take me to museums, buy me books, and rent me movies that had anything to do with dinosaurs. But as I grew, dinosaurs lost their splendor. By that time, I had fallen in love with ancient history because; mummies were of coarse, amazing. So I continued going to museums. I developed a general curiosity and eventually saw everything there was to see in the museums.

    These are just some of the ideas I have for writing about my childhood experiences with science. I will be choosing what matters to me and hot to properly transition this week while I am writing my paper. My opinion is that making the large transitions seamless will be the most difficult part of this assignment.

  6. ms
    September 19, 2011 at 6:39 pm

    I can’t figure out where to start. I have a solid idea, but where do I even begin? What is my first thought going to be? Ah, I’m getting really stressed. I read through all the samples and as interesting as they were, I still can’t figure out where I’m going to begin. How is everyone starting off?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

