Home > Uncategorized > Who are you people?

Who are you people?

Since one UW:20 class will be working alongside another UW:20 class on this blog, we should get to know each other. Here’s a little survey that I prepared.

1. Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your name? Where are you from? What school do you belong to? What is your major? Which building do you live in?

2. What are some of your special talents or hobbies?

3. What are some of your fears?

4. What kind of music do you listen to?

5. How are you enjoying GWU so far?

6. Which UW20 class are you from and what do you think of it?

7. Do you regularly write in your personal blog? If not, do you write in a journal? What is it like? If you keep a blog, would you like to share it with the two classes?

8. What do you think of “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”? Would you read it a second time? (The eight in the parenthesis apparently translates to a smiley.)

9. Can you relate the book to your personal life? If so, how?

10. Where do you see yourself at the end of Freshman year?

  1. September 9, 2011 at 2:33 pm

    Let this be an extension of my post:
    1. Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your name? Where are you from? What school do you belong to? What is your major? Which building do you live in?

    – My name is Haysoose. It is the Spanish pronunciation of “Jesus”. I’m from Queens, New York but Thurston is my home now. I’m in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences. I plan on majoring in economics and getting into law.

    2. What are some of your special talents or hobbies?

    – I play blues guitar. Anyone wanna jam, hit me up.

    3. What are some of your fears?

    – I’m afraid that this post is a little too casual. Hey, we gotta loosen up before we can comfortably work together right?

    4. What kind of music do you listen to?

    – No music speaks to me more than the blues. However, I also listen to rock, metal, and dubstep. As I’m writing this, I’m listening to “Out On The Tiles” by Led Zeppelin. \m/

    5. How are you enjoying GWU so far?

    – Livin’ the life.

    6. Which UW20 class are you from and what do you think of it?

    – I’m from the 9:35 UW:20 class. Now you guys have probably figured out that “Haysoose” is really just a pseudonym… Believe it or not, this is actually one of my favorite classes. People in this class are insightful and interested. It’s small size allows for more efficient discussion as well as more attention from the instructor.

    7. Do you regularly write in your personal blog? If not, do you write in a journal? What is it like? If you keep a blog, would you like to share it with the two classes?

    – I don’t have a personal blog, but I do have a “Reboot Book”. Basically, it has my entire identity in there; who I am, who my friends and family are, family history, tips on life, etc. If I ever hit my head and get amnesia, that’s where I go to.

    8. What do you think of “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”? Would you read it a second time?

    – It is actually a very easy book to read. I’m a sucker for historical novels and “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” fits the bill for me. The way Skloot keeps transitioning from her modern day exploits, to the history of the Lacks family, and to the scientific aspects of the account keeps you glued to the novel. When one part of the story gets old, she brings you to another part, and then continues the previous part of the story further into the novel.

    I would not read the novel a second time, not because I think it’s unworthy of being read multiple times, but because I personally don’t like doing things more than once.

    9. Can you relate the book to your personal life? If so, how?

    – In the Lacks family, Henrietta Lacks is a figure who has near legendary status. She is a character whom her latest descendants will learn about. Henrietta Lacks reminds me of my paternal grandfather who also has near legendary status in my family. Although he did die of cancer, he does not have immortal cells being grown in labs throughout the world. Instead, he was known for being very compassionate.

    Few people are able to make him angry. People who knew him said that you could test whether someone is a real jerk by putting him/her in a room with my grandfather. If they could get along, the person is not that bad of a person.

    He was also known for fleeing Japanese-occupied China during World War II as a teenager with his baby sister. He slept under dead bodies to avoid detection as he journeyed to Vietnam. Today, people in my family still speak very highly of him.

    10. Where do you see yourself at the end of Freshman year?

    – Hopefully, by the end of Freshman year, I have a 3.5+ GPA and a secure internship at the Department of Homeland Security. I’m also interested in starting a band here in GW.

  2. MeganS
    September 9, 2011 at 6:26 pm

    1. My name is Megan Shah. I am from Fremont, California (about 40 minutes from SanFran). I’m in the Elliott School studying International Affairs and I live in Potomac!

    2. Some of my special talents include my flexibility, mostly because i’ve been a competitive figure skater for over a decade.

    3. I have a great fear of spiders as well as of closed off or confined spaces. I suffer from claustrophobia which has made my transition from suburban CA to urban DC a lot harder than I expected.

    4. I listen to all types of music, even country!

    5. I’m really liking GW so far. My only complaint is the tall buildings everywhere and the city life, but I know it’s something I’ll get used to.

    6. I am in section 57 of UW20 and I really like it so far. I think the topics we talk about are not only pertinent to our everyday lives but are also interesting to learn about and discuss.

    7. I have actually never blogged before this class, but I’m excited to familiarize myself more with the process. In middle school, a writing class required me to write in a personal journal three times a week. Aside from that, however, I am not one to keep a daily journal.

    8. I really enjoyed the Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks. I thought it offered an unbiased look at the reality behind the HeLa cells and their effect on the Lacks family. I especially enjoyed Skloot’s diction as she portrayed their story through a broad lens.

    9. I can relate the book to my personal life in that I, much like Skloot, am a very curious person. I am not afraid to dig deeper to find answers when everyone else passes by subjects and topics of interests to me.

    10. At the end of freshmen year, I’d like to see myself as fully adjusted to DC life and to GW’s fast pace. I hope to have acquired the tools to handle the next three years both academically and socially through all that I’m getting involved with and experiencing this year.

  3. September 10, 2011 at 12:32 am

    I’m Alena. I live in Thurston. I’m from here, Washington DC. Columbian College of Arts and Sciences is my home. I can sing reasonably well and I have participated in musical theatre. I am afraid of spiders, rats, and reptiles. I listen to many kinds of music including but not limited to: Tim McGraw (country), Chris Brown (Hip Hop), Luther Vandross (R&B), Eminem (Rap), and Fertile Ground (Jazz). I like GWU a lot. I went to high school on this campus as well. I am from UW20:54. I like our class except that I hate science, not terribly interested in media other than Facebook, and I’m an awful writer under pressure. On the plus side I’m in to the culture part. I have a tumblr that I do not use and I do not keep a journal. My Facebook is probably the closest think I have to writing down my experiences. I am currently enjoying “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”. I left CI early so I never received the book and recently started reading it. I am not sure I would read it a second time because its long and i find it depressing. I am not sure about number nine because I haven’t finished it yet.

    Number ten needs its own paragraph. At the end of Freshman year, I will be smarter, more independent, and proud of myself. I will be excited to spend the summer with my boyfriend. I will be looking into taking ASL classes. I will be gainfully employed, hopefully. I will be excited to experience the presidential election coming up and being able to vote for the first time. Essentially, I will be everything I am now but older and more experienced at life.

    Now that I have answered all your questions. What about you? What are you looking for? How do you feel about life at GW? Are you ready for this?

  4. September 10, 2011 at 5:16 pm

    1. Hey! My name is Oskar Sharman and although I’m a US citizen, I’m ethnically from Kazakhstan and have been living there for the past 10 years. I study International Affairs at the Elliott School and I live in Thurston Hall. Frankly, despite all the complaints about loud noises in Thurston, I’m getting pretty settled in.

    2. I’ve been playing the guitar for 4 years and the piano for 14. I had a teacher for the guitar for only 6 months and I was taught to play in the classical style; however, I gradually shifted over to hard rock/metal. I tend play jazz music on the piano but classical pieces do find their way into my sheet music. I also really enjoy following and playing soccer (although, I’m not that good) and snowboarding.

    3. I am terrified of centipedes and millipedes.

    4. I generally listen to hard rock and metal but occasionally I listen to some softer stuff like Bon Iver.

    5. GWU has been great. The classes are interesting and the city is very lively. Just what I was looking forward to before I came.

    6. I am in UW20:57 and it’s been great. The spectrum of topics we have covered sort of envelops not just the literary aspect of writing but also its modern transition (hence, the blog we are using).

    7. I don’t normally write blogs nor do I keep a journal regularly updated.

    8. The book was great. It brings forth elements of racism and inequality and how it has shaped the lives of many, such as the Lacks family. I find that the book is applicable to this day, as social and economic inequality, in my opinion, is perpetual, something we simply cannot overcome.

    9. I have not come across any incidents I can relate to the book but I did read on the news an article about a man who was tasered to death by police officers. It just struck me as something similar to “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” in that the police officers, so busy with their jobs, essentially lost track and ended the man’s life. Similarly, the doctors and hospitals failed to give credit to Henrietta Lacks; I felt that failure to do so was primarily a result of the doctors’ amazement in a revelation such as the HeLe cell.

    10. I see myself with a decent GPA and passing grades. I know that’s not saying much but I really don’t know what to expect at this point.

  5. September 11, 2011 at 12:03 am

    1. My name is Jada Smith. I am Jamaican. I’m from Waldorf, Maryland. I am in the CCAS and I am majoring in English/Creative Writing and minoring in French. I live in Madison but I’m ALWAYS in Thurston.

    2. I love to write. I’m a self-published author of two short story books and I have my own blog. I also love to paint and draw. I was actually going to go to Drexel for Art but changed my mind.

    3. SPIDERS! ANY AND ALL OTHERS BUGS/INSECTS!

    4. I listen to Gospel mostly but throw in some Bob Marley, Boys II Men and I can hang.

    5. I love it but I would like to transfer dorms. I want to be in Potomac instead.

    6. I am in UW20: 57. I didn’t really know what to expect from this class but some parts are enjoyable and other aren’t. I love to write but science doesn’t really interest me so I’m hoping that changes as the class goes on.

    7. Yeah. I started my blog over the summer. I’m going to try to update it every other week. I don’t mind sharing. Its a christian ministry blog just so you know. Its ( http://nuffsaid-jadaadinahsmith.blogspot.com/ ) Also check out my website, its ( http://www.adinahproduction.com )

    8. I enjoyed the book. My favorite parts were when Skloot talked about Henrietta’s life, the science part didn’t really interest me too much so I definitely won’t read it again unless I have to.

    9. I can’t really relate to the book at all in my personal life, but I can relate the book to other medical topics I’ve come across in my lifetime.

    10. At the end of Freshman year, I see myself with a high GPA, planning for fall semester of sophomore year, and completely adjusted to living in DC, away from home.

  6. September 11, 2011 at 7:22 am

    1. Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your name? Where are you from? What school do you belong to? What is your major? Which building do you live in?
    My name’s Priyanka Kaur. I’m from a smal town called Mullica Hill in South Jersey. I’m in the Columbian College of Arts and Sciences and I live in West Hall.

    2. What are some of your special talents or hobbies?
    I like playing tennis and I have an obsession with ice cream.

    3. What are some of your fears?
    I’m afraid of being in the dark alone.

    4. What kind of music do you listen to?
    I listen to almost everything except for country and rock. I love drake and other hip hop/ r&b artists.

    5. How are you enjoying GWU so far?
    So far I love it! My roommates, especially, have made it such an amazing experience.

    6. Which UW20 class are you from and what do you think of it?
    I’m from the UW20 class at 9:35 and I really enjoy it. It’s a lot different than my other classes since most of them are lectures or labs.

    7. Do you regularly write in your personal blog? If not, do you write in a journal? What is it like? If you keep a blog, would you like to share it with the two classes?
    No I do not have a blog or a journal, however, I might start a journal sometime soon.

    8. What do you think of “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”? Would you read it a second time? (The eight in the parenthesis apparently translates to a smiley.)
    The book is actually a lot more interesting then I thought it would be. Her story although is extremely different is really easy to relate to. I don’t think I would read it a second time unless I absolutely needed too.

    9. Can you relate the book to your personal life? If so, how?
    I think everyone in one way can relate to this book, directly or indirectly. For me, Henrietta’s attachment with her family is an important connection for me. Henrietta cared more about her family than she did for herself. My mom, just like most moms, does the same. Instead of scheduling her surgery as soon as possible she postponed it so she would not have to miss her daughters graduation. Of course, the surgery is much more important but for her family means more.

    10. Where do you see yourself at the end of Freshman year?
    At the end of freshman year I hope to have a good solid GPA and to find a balance between school and my new friends here in D.C.

  7. September 11, 2011 at 1:52 pm

    Arussell326- Hahas, I answered my own questions on the first comment.

    To all- What is up with you guys. Everyone is afraid of insects. Remember, we won the game of evolution. And besides, every insect has it’s own life, just like you and I do. Who are we to say that we are superior… oh wait, we came out on top in evolution so yea, we’re probably superior lol.

  8. September 11, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    I like this idea of getting to know the other classes so we can have an idea about whose blogs we’re commenting on and whose notes we’re reading! It’s kind of interesting because I think the concept brings up a debate that’s relevant to this class of how important is it to know the author of a piece of writing or to know anything about them? I personally always enjoy knowing more about the author so I am going to answer the questionnaire!

    My name is Angelica Florio, I was born in Hoboken, New Jersey but moved to Ashland, Oregon when I was two where I grew up. I am in the CCAS as an undecided major but I’m leaning towards journalism or something like it and I live on the Vern! I love to dance and I have dance my whole life, I also love photography and writing. I am extremely scared of spiders. I listen to all kinds of music, from Bon Iver and The Tallest Man On Earth to Wiz Khalifa and Jay-z. The only music style that I don’t like is country music- but I do love Taylor Swift. I am definitely enjoying GW so far, I think it’s a great school with so much going on, I love it! I’m in the UW20:57 class (at 9:30), and I am definitely enjoying it so far although I am a little bit worried about all of the technology use which I’m not used to. I do not regularly write in my personal blog, however I do write in a journal often. I have always wished that I could do a better job at regularly journaling because when I do do it, it is very theraputic.

    I enjoyed reading “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” a lot, I found all of its different themes to be very interesting and I liked how they all worked together to make the story a gripping and thought provoking one. I think I would read it a second time because whenever I re-read books I gain more insights and information from them that I didn’t get the first time. Unfortunately, I was reading the book at the same time that my grandmother was undergoing her first treatments for cancer so I could relate in a lot of reasons- being a family member in pain. I was imagining how I would feel if what happened to the Lacks family happened to mine.

    At the end of my freshman year I see myself with a much clearer idea of what I want to do with my life and what profession I will pursue. I hope that I will have learned a lot both from school and experience and that I will have met countless interesting people and seen amazing things.

  9. September 11, 2011 at 7:08 pm

    1. Tell us a little about yourself. What’s your name? Where are you from? What school do you belong to? What is your major? Which building do you live in?
    – I’m Alex Torio, I am from Madrid, Spain and I belong to the School of Business at GW. I am not decided yet, but I will probably major in marketing or sports management. I currently live in Madison 808…best dorm in the world.

    2. What are some of your special talents or hobbies?
    – I’m not really sure, but everybody tells me that I am a peoples person and I guess that could be called a talent because I am not very good at anything in particular. Hobbies…I really enjoy to spend a lot of time with my friends (if that can be called a hobby) and I also like reading certain books. (Action books!)

    3. What are some of your fears?
    – Since I was a young kid I am scared of racoons for some mysterious reason I have yet to figure out and I’m really scared by the future, I have absolutely no idea of how things are going to turn out, but I guess everybody has that same fear.

    4. What kind of music do you listen to?
    – I’m into old school rap, such as wu tang clan, NWA, Big L, 2pac, Biggie Smalls; but I also like electronic, dubstep and house.

    5. How are you enjoying GWU so far?
    – GW is treating me well so far, some teachers are harsh and some disciplines are hard to understand, but with time and some sacrifice everyhting will be alright. I really like the people I have met so far and I think its going to be a fun year.

    6. Which UW20 class are you from and what do you think of it?
    – I’m in UW20:57 with Prof. Myers. I think that this course is a very challenging course that assigns a ton of workload, but I also think I am going to learn a lot and I am going to enjoy the pieces that we read and the class discussions.

    7. Do you regularly write in your personal blog? If not, do you write in a journal? What is it like? If you keep a blog, would you like to share it with the two classes?
    -I am not into blog, this is actually the first time I write in a blog, and it’s weird, but I’m kind of liking it. I used to keep a journal where I wrote some of my “crazy experiences” but I lost it. I really want to keep this blog up and give it a try and see how it works with the two classes. By the way, I think that this topic is very special and thank you to the author, because it’s good to get to know some more people.

    8. What do you think of “The Immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks”? Would you read it a second time? (The eight in the parenthesis apparently translates to a smiley.)
    -I think “The immortal Life of Henrietta Lacks” is a one-time-reading book, I would not read it a second time, just because it is a book that wasn’t very catchy for me, it was more of a forced reading. I really enjoy much more reading books that instantly catch my attention and don’t let me get off them. I really don’t enjoy reading about such hypocritical issues but in the other hand, I also think it’s right to show the world the true story of how strongly ingorant were these families and how hospitals used them. It is a sad reality, which I think everybody should have the right to take a look at it.

    9. Can you relate the book to your personal life? If so, how?
    -I think that I could feel empathy towards this reactions and behaviors because I feel as if there are moments of my life where I have been treated the same way, someone smarter and bigger than me has tricked me and used me, but then I figured it out and I felt the urgent need of doing something about it…So I sort of felt the same way..

    10. Where do you see yourself at the end of Freshman year?
    -I would like to have some internships offers and go back to Spain to spend some time with my girl, my family and my friends. I would also like to continue travelling across Europe and also spend some time in the beach. However, as many of the commenters said, I really don’t know what is going to happen and how anything is going to turn out, but lets hope for the best..

  10. September 11, 2011 at 8:24 pm

    1. I’m Sarah and I’m from Brookline, MA which is right outside of Boston. I am in the Elliott School and I live in Potomac. I have two dogs whom I love and miss dearly. Computer screens make me very sleepy.

    2. I really like to listen to music. Sometimes I will sit in my room and listen to music and not do anything else, just listening. I used to be in a childrens chorus in elementary school which sang with the BSO and did some collaborative work with some australlian guy who composed a song for us. Also with an czech republic choir. I really like to dance but I don’t have any real training.

    3. I am terrified of deep water/the ocean/sea monsters. I hate sailing but my mom loves it so she makes me go with her all the time and it totally freaks me out. I guess it’s the aspect of the unknown which scares me. But it’s odd because I don’t fear the future or anything. Just underwater sea creatures. But I will swim in lakes and pools. In fact, I enjoy swimming.

    4. Well I’ve already stated that I like to listen to music a lot. Any kind of melodic noise is alright by me. I’m not so much into heavy metal or my uncle’s mongolain throat chanting cd that he likes to play at Chistmas. But other than that I’ll at least try listening to pretty much anything.

    5. GW is great so far. My floor is pretty tight, so its great to have a bunch of friendly neighbors. My hsitory class is forcing people to explore the city a little bit which I am looking forward to getting to know. J-street is awful and carvings sucks money like no other especiall because of its convenient location. I have learned that I need to wake up extra early if i want to buy coffee in the mornings because starbucks is also brutally busy.

    6. I am in section 54, I believe. The one that meets really early at 8 am. I like the class so far. I’m not so good at remembering to do online work, but we’ll see; maybe I’ll get really good at it.

    7. I don’t write a blog and only recently started following one. My friend moved to Spain and she is blogging about her adventures there. I try to write in journals and it usually lasts for about 3-4 weeks and then I stop writing in it. I wish I was more on top of that because it’d be nice to have a documentation at least parts of my life to be able to read when I’m older.

    8. I really enjoyed reading this book. I have an interest in science and specifically in biology and immunology, so this book was right up my alley. I would probably read it again if I had the time, of if it was assigned as homework. They style of writing is very interesting to me because it is a hybrid, or rather a blend of so many styels. It makes it more relatable to read as a non-scientist. Cancer really, really sucks. And that is a grand understatament.

    9. A close family friend died of cancer at the beginning of the summer and it changed my perspectives on life and its value. It’s always so cheesy to say things like live every moment as your last but i’ve never had to face my own mortality before, and this was the closest I’ve been to death in a long while.

    10. I hope to have a clearer understanding of what I’m doing with my life, but not too clear. I still have all of sophmore year to decide what I want to do for the next few years. I’ve always hoped to go into the Peace Corps inbetween college and grad school, but I mean, who knows what will happen?

  11. September 11, 2011 at 8:41 pm

    1. Hey my name is Frederick and I’m from Pittsburgh, PA. I’m in the School of Business and I live in Potomac. I’m hopefully going to major in finance or something of that nature.

    2. I like to play sports a lot. I played basketball, soccer, and lacrosse in high school. I like all different types of music and I play the drums. I’m also left-handed which – much to my surprise – is something that many people are intrigued about.

    3. I really really don’t like knives and I am a little bit scared of heights. The occasional spider freaks me out but it’s not that bad.

    4. I listen to pretty much any kind of music except country. I don’t have anything against country, it just has never sparked my interest. Some of my favorite artists are weezer, guster, blink-182, wiz khalifa, and third-eye blind.

    5. So far I am liking GWU. It is much different than living at home with my parents, so that is something that is taking getting used to. It’s okay though because I think I really am starting to like it.

    6. I am in the UW20: 57. I have liked the class so far. It has been interesting and I think it will only get more interesting because the topics seem very cool. I think it’s going to be a good class.

    7. I used to write on a blog but it actually got too hard to keep up with so I stopped. I will have to get used to writing a lot on this blog. I do not really like reading papers aloud in class, but other than that sharing my work with classmates does not really bother me.

    8. I thought the book was very interesting. I love reading stories that no one has really heard before. Her story is definitely really important and everyone should know about it.

    9. I don’t think it relates much to my life, actually. But it’s a great story.

    10. Hopefully at the end of freshman year I will have gotten really good grades and be fully immersed in GW’s community. That will make me really happy.

  12. September 12, 2011 at 12:04 am

    Hey, I am Laura. I am from a town outside of Seattle but now I live in Thurston hall. I am thinking about majoring in public health but right now I am in the Columbian College.

    I like snowmobiling, wake boarding, ATVing as hobbies but I am not sure about a special talent.

    I don’t really have a specific fear but i get startled really easily.

    I listen to basically every kind of music. It seems to be a mix of whatever the other people around me really like, then I get used to that music and start to like it. Mostly I listen to alternative rock, country, and grunge.

    I am really enjoying GWU, it is a lot different from home but it is a ton of fun. Having everyone you know living in the same building or a few blocks away is really nice. It is weird not having all the friends and family from home but I am really enjoying it here.

    I am in section 57, I didn’t know what to expect of it, but I have liked it. Getting used to all the technology pars of it is different, I have never had a class where so much of it is online, including receiving the assignments.

    I have never written a blog or even read one. I also have never kept a journal.

    It took me a while to read the book, I liked it but it wouldn’t be one that I would have thought to read on my own. I don’t normally read that type of book, or even really read books very often so it was a change for me but I enjoyed it.

    I thought the part where Henrietta doesn’t tell her family about her cancer was very realistic. When my aunt’s cancer returned she hid it from us as long as she could, even though a family reunion. She finally told us when she needed help getting her to treatment and taking care of her.

    At the end of freshman year I hope to figure out what I want to do, and get my life together more. I am not really set on my major, have no idea what I want to do after college and can barley decide what to have for dinner. So I am hoping I can have things figured out a bit more.

  13. September 12, 2011 at 1:15 am

    1. Hey my name is Mikaela Pyrch and I’m from Dallas, Texas. My current residence is Lafayette Hall and I am in the Columbian College of the Arts and Sciences. I am a chemistry major, but NOT pre-med. I also have a younger brother at home who I am very close to, along with 3 cats and 1 dog who I miss very much.

    2. I play Water Polo, but I also love watching movies and reading.

    3. Fears. Cockroaches scare the living daylights out of me. I had a traumatic incident where I almost swallowed one when I was little and ever since then I freak out when I see a cockroach.

    4. I will listen to just about any type of music but country. My artists include the Black Keys and Maroon 5.

    5. I love GWU. I just got done with Freshman Day of Service and I enjoyed every moment of it so far, if you ask me how much I am going to like trying to get the paint stains out of my clothes… the answer is not at all.

    6. I am from the 8 am class, and I find class interesting and completely different than any of my past English classes. I feel like all of the 8am kids are half asleep for most of the class, just because the class is so early in the morning.

    7. I have never had a blog before so this is a new adventure and experience for me. Any of you bloggers out there might have to give me a few tips.

    8. I actually had to read this book for my biology class my junior year, so this is my second time reading it. I enjoyed the book and found it to be insightful to how the scientific society functions and how science relates to everyday people.

    9. I can relate to the book because I have always been interested in science. I also feel some personal connection to the book because my mother is in the process of becoming a doctor right now. ( aka she is in medical school)

    10. I hope to have a lot of stories about school and all the fun places around here to take back home with me. Also I want to have a decent GPA and maybe know what I want to do after college.

  14. September 12, 2011 at 1:18 am

    1. Heyyo, I’m Pooja Mistry , some people call me pooj. From Lowell Massachusetts, yes the place where The Fighter was shot 🙂 its kinda our name to fame. I belong to the school of engineering and applied sciences and I am a Biomedical Engineering major. I live on the 9th floor of Thurston and am really looking forward to a good semester.

    2. I love photography. Perhaps more than anything. I love to see something beautiful, capture it and make it mine forever. I love people, animals, things, colors and just life in general. I want to capture every beautiful moment, and even some gloomy days, make memorabilia’s and maybe someday showcase my work, my art to a large public.

    3. I have a mild claustrophobia. Perhaps my worst fear is being locked up in a dark enclosed room and not being able to get out. I guess I fear oppression.

    4. I listen to all sorts of music. My taste is very eclectic but over all i enjoy anything with a catchy beat or really sweet lyrics.

    5. GWU is amazing so far. Its really big, lots of things to do, lots of people to meet. A lot new experiences. I hope to experience it all.

    6. I am from UW20: Science and Media and so far i think its pretty good. I like science and media so hopefully the semester will be good.

    7. I have a tumblr and i enjoy blogging in it. I usually just post things i like or how i’m feeling usually pictures that I’ve taken things I’ve done, music i like. Its mainly for my own pleasure but its a pleasure viewing other blogs and having yours be viewed too. Take a look
    http://poooj.tumblr.com/

    8. I enjoyed reading about the person behind Hela perhaps more than reading about Hela, overall it was good. Perhaps.

    9. No

    10. I see my self more knowing more about life, college i see my self establishing a foundation for my goals. I see my self knowing what I want, but maybe not.

  15. Sean
    September 12, 2011 at 2:16 am

    1. Hello everyone, my name is Sean McCart. I’m from Las Vegas, Nevada and I’m living in Madison hall. I’m in the Colombian College with an undecided major.

    2. I play baseball here at George Washington. I also love to scuba dive, play guitar, ski, and hang out with friends.

    3. I really don’t have any fears, but I guess you could say that I’m scared for college and finding the right group of friends.

    4. I absoultely love rock music. I enjoy all types of music, but my favorite by far is rock. My favorite band is Muse and I got lucky enough to see them in concert when they came to Vegas.

    5. I am loving GW! People here are really nice and I’m enjoying all my classes and baseball. I love how everything is in the city and close to each other. Its a completely new experience for me but I love it.

    6. I am in the class that meets at 8:00, so I think that’s 54? I’m not quite sure. I think its going to be a great class because in the one discussion we had on the book I saw so many different perspectives on the book.

    7. I have never written a blog or kept a journal, but I’m excited to read some this year and see what they are all about.

    8. I liked the book, I hadn’t read many books like this one but i liked the way it was written and was very enjoyable. I probably would not read it again though.

    9. I can not relate to the book at all, but I feel bad for the Lacks family and all that they have been through.

    10. I hope that at the end of freshman year, I hope to know what college I will be in and what my major will be. I hope to know more of what I want to do with my life.

  16. September 16, 2011 at 1:33 am

    1. Hey! I’m Justin. I live in Northern New Jersey, right outside of New York City, and contrary to a lot of the stigmas about where I live, I actually love it a lot. Happy to be here too, though. I am in the School of Media and Public Affairs, majoring in Political Communication. I am living in Thurston.

    2. I play the saxophone, and am in the band here at GWU. It’s an awesome instrument and I spend a lot of time practicing and performing.

    3. I am terrified of spiders and bugs. It’s terrible.

    4. I am really open minded when it comes to music, and I listen to anything from classic rock (The Doors, Queen, Janis Joplin David Bowie,) to modern stuff (Lady Gaga, John Mayer, Adele…) The Beatles are my all-time favorite band though. As a saxophonist, I naturally listen to a lot of jazz music, too.

    5. Lovin’ it! I’ve decided over the past couple of weeks or so that this is the coolest school in the world. We have lots of amazing opportunities here, and I feel so blessed to be living in Washington, D.C.

    6. I am in the 8 AM Class, and so far it seems really interesting and thought provoking. Not like any other class I’ve taken before, especially in reference to the writing assignment that is coming up about “what is science.”

    7. I keep a journal regularly, yes. However, I am completely new to blogs: this has been a new, interesting, albeit slightly difficult experience for me to get the hang of.

    8. I thought the book was interesting, and I really identified with the book’s human aspect. I loved reading about Henrietta, her daughter Deborah, and the lives of their relatives, and how life was a struggle for them, mainly because of their race. That story was so captivating, and quickly became something I was passionate about. I don’t know if I would read it again, though. So many books, so little time!

    9. I really am not sure if I can relate it to my life; nonetheless, it was interesting for me to hear a new perspective and get some insight into the lives of others.

    10. I don’t know where I see myself tomorrow, let alone at the end of the year. Realistically, I’d like to have an internship somewhere…and I definitely am looking forward to getting involved in various activities and groups on campus, in particular, the Hatchet.

  17. Danika
    September 17, 2011 at 4:11 pm

    1. I’m Professor Myers, and I teach both of the UW20 sections using this blog. I’m originally from Corvallis, Oregon; I received my undergraduate degree from Beloit College in Beloit, Wisconsin, and I double-majored in Creative Writing and Spanish. After college I lived in Quito, Ecuador for a year as a Fulbright Grant recipient, then worked as a paralegal for an immigration attorney for several years before going back to graduate school and earning an MFA in Poetry from George Mason. I write poems about car accidents and non-euclidean geometry, and I live in a little house built in 1914 with my husband and my doberman.

    2. I knit and I sew. I learned to sew in a 4-H sewing club, and my mom was my club leader. I believe that a lot of what I learned about revision I actually learned from sewing: my mom is a big believer in redoing things until they are flawless.

    3. Things I’m afraid of: Car accidents. Dying before I get things done. My husband dying. My parents dying. My dog dying. So, basically: death. and dismemberment.

    4. When I’m cooking or driving, I listen to alt-country/folky lady singers like Emmylou Harris, Gillian Welch, Patty Griffin and Neko Case. When I’m running I like to listen to Beastie Boys, this Mexican hip hop group called Control Machete (check them out: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tt1IF9QOIZw), and, weirdly, early Tori Amos. I also teach a UW class on Country Music and Gender Performance, so I listen to a good bit of contemporary country.

    5. This is my 5th year teaching at GWU, and I love it, mostly because my students are so inspiring and passionate.

    6. I get to go to both sections! So far, I’m extremely pleased with the way the course is going and the ideas you are bringing both to class and to our online discussions. I cannot wait to read your first essays.

    7. I don’t keep a blog, and the only time I’ve successfully kept a journal is when I’ve been traveling. I wish I were more disciplined about keeping a diary. I write all the time, but it’s more trying to capture ideas, images, moments, emotions before they get away than it is a record of my life; I also tend to jot on whatever paper is handy and then stuff it into a cubby in my desk, rather than writing in a book.

    8. I think /The Immortal Life/ is an impressive work of nonfiction and a testament to Skloot’s craft. It inspires me to stay with projects that feel unwieldy: Skloot worked on her project for more than ten years, but look how seamless the product is! It’s beautiful. I truly enjoyed it the first time I read it as a good yarn; this time around I’m noticing much more about its construction and thematic harmonies. I’ll teach it again in the Spring and look forward to giving it one more read, then I’ll probably set it aside for awhile.

    9. Since I live in Baltimore, it was fun to read about places I know and learn more about the history of a part of Baltimore you don’t hear much about.

    10. My freshman year was so long ago! But I will say that I still have close friendships with folks I met in a seminar class I took at Beloit that was a lot like UW20.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

