Home > Uncategorized > DC’s Derranged Birds

DC’s Derranged Birds

I have always thought birds were sweet little creatures like just tweeted around the town.  Well, coming to DC this year my whole perception of birds changed.  It is like they are a whole other species compared to the normal birds I grew up with. I have been scared on many occasions because I think these tiny feathered animals are going fly straight into me until it swerves last minute and dodges me. It gives me unnecessary anxiety because who knows if one bird is just inept and flies right into.  You never know, it is always possible.

Common knowledge tells me that it must be some sort of food that the birds eat or the culture that were nurtured in. In high school, the birds weren’t deranged but the squirrels definitely were. They would stare you down with their beady little eyes and it’s as if they were going to attack you at any minute. Of course, this gave me as much anxiety as birds darting towards me.

But honestly, based on their habitat why do animals personalities differ.  Clearly these birds and squirrels are less timid, but what made them like this? What makes them so possessed? Please someone help me out on this one.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. April 30, 2012 at 3:17 am

    Easy explanation. I’ve lived here most of my life, so I guess the birds don’t seem too strange to me, but the reason they have such little fear for humans is because we feed them. I’m sure you’ve noticed by now that people enjoy feeding birds whatever they have leftover from an outside snack, and squirrels have perfected begging to a near artistic form. Honestly the best way to avoid the psychotic DC animals is to not show fear. Squirrels can smell fear.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

