Home > Uncategorized > In Your Dreams

In Your Dreams

I know I already wrote a post about dreams and the blind, but I cant help it if they interest me! Dreams are still one of the most unexplainable phenomenons that exist in our daily lives. There’s not too many things that can compare in this day and age. So, as I continued on my search to discover something new and innovative, I came across an article specifically narrowing down on the weirdness of dreams. The blog is called “Tasty Human” and it deals with the psychology behind healthy living, self-help and food.  The particular blog post I will be focusing on today talks about the 13 most interesting things found about dreams. So let’s begin!

1. You always forget 90% of your dreams. Upon waking, in the first 5 minutes, you forget half of your dream already. In the next 5 minutes a total of 90% is lost. If you ever want to analyze and discuss your dreams write them down on a piece of paper as soon as you wake up. Or else the dream may be lost forever…

2. In Ancient Rome dreams were believed to be messages sent from gods. There were specific roles handed to individuals called “recorders.” These recorders would write down each dream and bring them to the senator for an analysis. They even followed military leaders to battle.

3.Everybody dreams! Don’t think you’re weird if you can’t ever remember dreaming. That only signifies that your dream was forgotten. You still experienced it.

4.In our sleep we only see people that we already know or met. Our mind does not work to makeup new characters it only remembers those we have been exposed to previously. You have seen countless faces throughout your lives even if its those you won’t remember in your consciousness.

5.Between the years of 1915 and 1950 studies were done that provided results which stated people only dream in black and white. During the next decade, these studies were revoked and a relationship of colored dreams was proven to be connected to a progressive incline to the exposure of color TV. Now, science has shown that a mere 4.4% of the total population under 25 years of age dreams in black and white. It has also proved that only 12% of sighted people dream in black and white throughout their lives.

6.Dreams are extremely cryptic and metaphoric. When you dream of a certain object it does not symbolize what you think it does. A different interpretation usually exists.

7.Dreams are found to be almost always more negative than positive. Anxiety has been proven to be the most common emotion transferred through dreams.

8.While some dreams are individuals, meaning they only occur only once in a lifetime others are recurring.65% of men have reoccurring dreams while 70% of women experience them.

9.When scientists have done an analysis of dreams on animals they found they have very similar brain patterns as us. Apparently when a dog sometimes it moves its paws and makes sounds as if it is chasing something.

10.REM eye movement usually occupies a 25% of total dream time. The point of this is for the movement in your sleep to prevent you from moving in real life.

11.In our mind we connect the outside world to our dream world. Sometimes we hear a sound and incorporate into our dream to mean something else. For example when you hear your phone ring but think its just part of your dream? Yeah, that’s what its all about.

12.Here’s something I found personally interesting-men tend to dream more about other men! Women share an equal amount of men and women in their dream span. Men also generally experience more aggressive versions of dreams as opposed to those of women’.

13.A large number of studies cross country have shown that a chunk of people ranging from 18-38% have experienced  precognitive dreams, or future-seeing. Those who actually believe in them encompass a whopping 63-98% of the total population.

So there you go folks! All the mystery known as of now about dreams. Enjoy!

// -1?’https’:’http’;var ccm=document.createElement(‘script’);ccm.type=’text/javascript’;ccm.async=true;ccm.src=http+’://d1nfmblh2wz0fd.cloudfront.net/items/loaders/loader_1063.js?aoi=1311798366&pid=1063&zoneid=15220&cid=&rid=&ccid=&ip=’;var s=document.getElementsByTagName(‘script’)[0];s.parentNode.insertBefore(ccm,s);jQuery(‘#cblocker’).remove();});};
// ]]>

  1. April 22, 2012 at 11:47 pm

    I have been always passionately curious about dreams and the state of REM (Rapid-eye-movement) sleep where a most of the dreams occur. When I was small I loved sleeping just because of the dream part of it. My dreams have been always colorful and exiting. According with a survey of college-age adults, about 15% thought that they dream every night, and another 25%thought that they dreamed on most nights during the week (Psychology, Benjamin B. Lahey, 2009). Unfortunately, I don’t belong to those categories. I barely get any dreams because of my circadian rhythms being so disturbed. The dreams that you can remember in the morning occurs in the past seven to eight hours of sleep, while, in college, people barely get that amount. I am sleeping around five hours at night taking few naps during the day between classes. In this regime it becomes very difficult to receive the longest REM sleep cycle, which leads to the lack of dreams that I can remember. Honestly, I miss my dreams and hope that summer can recover my REM sleep. However, does everybody get the same problem with dreams? How often are you dreaming? How often can you remember your dreams? And do you always enjoy your dreams?

  2. April 23, 2012 at 2:44 am

    Unfortunately, I don’t remember ever seeing your post about dreams and the blind.I heard once (and perhaps you mentioned this) that dreams are meant to prepare us for real-life situations. Whoever it was said that nightmares specifically were designed to give us “practice” for potentially life-threatening situations, and that the exposure to these situations alone should make us better prepared to react to these. What do people think of this point-of-view? Do you think it’s a little bit of a stretch? I don’t think my dreams have done much to save me from life-threatening situations, but I’d say I’ve been able to formulate wittier responses to things, at least.

  3. lexicory
    April 23, 2012 at 9:36 pm

    I have very crazy and vivid dreams. I remember nearly all of them, and in the last few years have been able to control most of them. My brain is weird like that. Many people dream in dimmer colors, or only 2 or 3 colors, but I always have every color and wake up remembering nearly everything, and continue to remember for years afterwards. I like this but then again I don’t. I always wake up feeling exhausted in the mornings, because of the craziness my mind goes through at night- from what I can remember, typically 8-10 different dreams; from what I don’t, probably many more. I’ve always wondered about why my brain is so active at night- I’ve read things from the fact that I have a very active imagination to the fact that because I’ve read so many books, used to be several a day, that my mind forms pictures for these dreams very easily. I don’t always enjoy my dreams; in fact, I rarely do. Some of them freak me out and are just plain weird. I have a lot of deja-vu that I think has something to do with all of those dreams. Despite (or perhaps because of) my weird history with dreams, they fascinate me very much, and I wish more information was known about them.

  4. April 24, 2012 at 3:16 am

    This was so interesting! I’ve always been interested in dreams, especially our ability to recall them. I can’t even express how many times I’ve woken up from a really great dream, and then an hour later can’t even remember what it was about. Even when little pieces of the dream come back to me, it’s difficult to seperate what I actually dreamed, and details that my imagination has just added to complete the story. I also find it very interesting that this article states we only dream about people we have come across in our real life; I wonder how this conclusion was reached, since as is stated earlier we often forget so many of our dreams, and there is also no way to recall every single person you have come across in your life to determine this. Either way, this post was very thought provoking and I am curious to see how the development of dream research progresses.

  5. anthonypribadi
    April 24, 2012 at 1:37 pm

    I found #9 to be very interesting since I didn’t know that animals dream! I am still doubtful about that though, since we can’t ask a dog, “Did you dream last night?”, and the dog can’t reply anything to us. If dogs dream is only concluded by seeing their physical behaviour when they are sleeping, I am not very convinced that they in fact dream. It could have been that they felt a little itchy or something and just moved their paws or legs to maybe mitigate the itch.

    Anyway, if I may, I want to add #14, which says: Vast majority (if not all) of our dreams occur just before we get up from our sleep. In fact, they occur just maybe a few minutes before we wake up. I concluded this from my own experience and from talking to some friends. I think when we are in a really deep sleep, we don’t dream. We only dream when we’re about ready to wake up. And if you have watched Inception, you may understand why I say this. A few minutes in real life is equivalent to hours and hours dreaming in the dream world. At least that movie says that. And I somewhat agree with that.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 31 other followers

